First Day Exploring


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

BuildingBuildingBuilding

This is one of the many building close to me, that I'm not really sure what they are, but liked the way they looked. That's kind of a common theme from this walk.
Today was a walking day. I woke up and began walking from Recoleta-where my apartment is- through Barrio Norte to Palermo. Most of the pictures are things that I just happened to see along the way, because I didn't really have a planned route. I knew there was a lot of parks in Palermo so I headed for those and circled back along the other side of Palermo, Barrio Norte and Recoleta.
At one point I helped a little old lady across the street. She came up next to me at the corner and asked ayudame or can you help me. They really respect their elders here too. I was at the store getting food and there were a couple of us in line when an older woman with a cane just walked to the front of the line. There's still a lot to get used to, but I'm sure I will.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

GraffttiGrafftti
Grafftti

There's a lot of graffiti here and though a lot of it is just writing, there are some cool ones. I tried to take pictures of the ones I liked. This was on the side of a McDonalds.
Iglesia de PilarIglesia de Pilar
Iglesia de Pilar

This was a church that I couldn't find my way into. There was a wall all the way around it, but it was actually marked on the map. It was a shame because from outside the wall it looked beaufitul.
Another BuildingAnother Building
Another Building

Again, it looked pretty cool.
Plaza FranciaPlaza Francia
Plaza Francia

I stopped and took a break in.
TreeTree
Tree

These trees are everywhere and very pretty this time of year.
TreeTree
Tree

A close up of the flowers.
Another treeAnother tree
Another tree

These aren't as prevalent, but were still pretty cool.
Another statueAnother statue
Another statue

This one was missing a hand so, I don't think they liked the guy very much.
Palm TreesPalm Trees
Palm Trees

A large group of palms together.
EvitaEvita
Evita

This was a statue of Evita, in Evita park. It was fenced off so you couldn't get close to it.
Biblioteca nacionalBiblioteca nacional
Biblioteca nacional

The national library, just across from the statue of Evita
RamonesRamones
Ramones

This was on the side of the Evita Statue, and probably why it was fenced off. Kind of weird seeing Ramones Stuff down here, but there are a lot of people with Ramones stuff
Ave. LibertadorAve. Libertador
Ave. Libertador

This isn't the 20 lane street, but it gave a nice view with how wide it was.
FishFish
Fish

This was in the Japanese Garden and these fish were huge and continuously came up for something to eat.
Jardin JaponesJardin Japones
Jardin Japones

The Japanese garden and the restaurant farther back.
Jardin JaponesJardin Japones
Jardin Japones

Another view of the garden.
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

Not quite Iguazu, but it was pretty nice.
BuildingBuilding
Building

This was one of the distinctive skyscrapers in B.A.. Most of the time there are large buildings but they all look alike, or aren't tall enough to make up a skyline.
ZooZoo
Zoo

This was on the side of the zoo-I didn't go in because I was pretty tired by the time I made it there, but looks like at some point it'd be worth it.
AnimalAnimal
Animal

This was some animal that was walking around in the Japanese Garden. The local people were making duck noises, so I assumed it's a duck.
graffitigraffiti
graffiti

More graffiti.
Statue IVStatue IV
Statue IV

Another statue, in another park I didn't know what the name was. This one was cool to walk up to because I came from the other side and it seemed to rise out of the trees.


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb