I cannot believe one week has already passed!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
October 31st 2008
Published: October 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Has it really already been a week since I arrived in Buenos Aires! Unreal, timed just flew! After 6 hours of formal Spanish lessons in the school every day and then an added couple of hours during afternoon excursions around town, and conversations with my family, I must say that Language Immersion is the way to go when you want to learn a new language! Amazing what I have been able to learn thus far! It gets me really fired up for the weeks to come and I am almost sad that we are at the weekend already; although my brain will probably be thankful for a little break!
Especially since I am operating on about 5 hours of sleep today since a bunch of us students and two teachers went out to dinner last night as a farewell for Richard (student from England who had his last day today) (photo=xxxx) And since going out to dinner does not start until about 9:30-10 around here, you can imagine that I also did not get to bed at my regular time. but such is la vida loca in B'sA's!!
But since it is Friday, it's all good, and I will get a little nap in this afternoon before "happy hour" with the rest of the students and staff. ( a weekly Friday night event, held at a different bar every time) Oh' almost forgot: had my first steak last night... mmmh, so sorry for you vegetarians, you are missing something very special! It was amazing!
On a separate note, getting to school every morning is worth a short notation! It is a bit of an adventure every morning to squeeze into a train (sort of like a metro train) that arrives completely full, no one gets off since all are taking it into the microcentro, and yet at every stop more people fit in! Amazing! I am just thankful that I am tall and so at least breathing is not so difficult for me 😊. Once we all spill out of the train at it's final destination it is mad rush to the exit doors where everyone has to go through a turnstile, which creates a massive backlog, and then it's out onto the streets, dodging taxis and collectivos (buses) who have a total disregard to street lights and pedestrians! Amazingly pedestrians also have no regard for the lights, and to watch about 100 people cross a huge plaza weaving through traffic is a sight in itself! How can a people be so pushy when it comes to the train, the subway and the roads, yet when they line up to catch the bus it is in perfect British cuing order! Truly a phenomenon!

well that is it for today the nap is waiting to rest up for tonight! More on Monday after the visit to an Estancia on Sunday! Am already looking forward to Gauchos, horses, steak and Mate!

Adios!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



2nd November 2008

Steak
I will pray for the cow you ate!!!!!
3rd November 2008

Enjoy!!
We are following your trip with envy!! It looks magnificent although somewhat more civilized that the Khumbu valley! Keep sending the photos.

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb