Yo soy contento!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
September 30th 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok! I have now been in Buenos Aires for 13 days and feel pretty ready to leave the city and get out and see some of what South America has to offer. I have learnt loads of Spanish, thinking about it all the time....but still can´t string a sentence together! Went for a bike tour around the city on Saturday which was the best day since I´ve been here, the sun was shining all day and it was hot, unfortunately since then it has been cloudy and cold!! The tour took in all the highlight of the city which was really good, but after four hours I was shattered, went for dinner on Saturday night and almost feel asleep at the table, learning Spanish is really making me knackered, or maybe I´m just getting old...ahhhh!! The Argentinian way is to eat late (11pm), party late (go out at 12am and come in 7am) and they are also very friendly! The Argentinian men are very forward, sometimes they just want to talk and sometimes more but they are never rude! I´m just not feeling the Argentinian way of living, especially not when I have to get up for class at 9am!!! My class mates are really nice to hang out with and there is also a girl from Washington who hangs out with us too who is really nice! Meeting some people for cake at 5pm, now that is an Argentinian thing I have not found hard to get into....they love their sweet things over here, every other shop is a cake shop, Dolce de leche (a kind of caramel spread that they have on biscuits or cakes) is everywhere, every household has a big pot, it´s a daily thing! But strangely they are not fat here, don´t quite know how??
Was in the subte station on Saturday coming back from the bike tour with Mark, Swise guy from my course, and someone tried to open my rucksack but fortunately I felt something on my bag and brought it round to my front, that will teach me to drop my guard, was lucky so will never make that mistake again!!!!! The subte is so cheap here although there are not that many lines, nothing conpared to the london underground....it is 1 peso (approx 5 peso to the pound) and if you don´t have change quite often they will let you go for free!!! On the buses however, if you don´t have change you don´t get on, so as you can imagine coins are like gold!! THe bus system here is really strange as a lot of the streets are one way, so you wouldn´t be able to get on where you got off and they are also packed!!!
Off to Peru on Saturday, can´t wait!!
x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb