Buenos Aires - 01/09/08


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so since last time we've been for an asado at our landlords. Ate some brilliant steak, drank loads of red wine and met some great people. A week before we were having a similar night with my best friends in Manchester. Now a week later, I'm doing the same thing on the other side of the world with people I've never met before .... crazy.

We get up late the next day after a late night, it's market day on Sunday in San Telmo (the area we are staying in BA) and it's a lot of fun. I don't normally like this kind of thing, but I found myself strangely drawn to the tat on sale at the well presented stalls. There are some very talented musicians working the streets as well as some tango displays. Very impressive but not really my thing. The Spanish guitarists on the other hand ......

Today we've been to our first day at Spanish school. Our teacher only speaks in Spanish which is pretty tricky for the first couple of hours, however after that we start to pick it up a bit better and this afternoon we practice what we've learnt over a couple of cervezas. I even manage to hold a bit of a conversation with an Argentine tramp selling the big issue equivalent ! His name was Daniel !

We're at school for the next couple of weeks, so I might not have much to report between now and then. I've been told that the pictures on here can be a but unreliable ..... I'm also uploading them to Picasa, so have a look at http://picasaweb.google.com/phy7tes/BuenosAires for the latest pictures. It's easier and faster to put them on there.

Hasta Luego

Tom


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb