Buenos Aires - Day 1


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 30th 2008
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So the big day came and went. After all the build up I've been giving it we just got on the train to London, got on the plane at Heathrow and ........ a long time later, here we are. I'm not sure what I was making such a fuss about ! No doubt this will change after a few weeks, but at the moment it just feels like being on holiday and an absolutely mint one at that !

Buenos Aires is great, the weather is perfect. Clear blue sky and a temperature which you can comfortably walk about in all day. Our apartment isn't too bad either. It's in an (I would say) art deco style building, and was designed by our landlords brother who is an architect. It's fully kitted out and is right in the middle of town. We're dreaming ! I'm not very good at describing things, so I'll put some pictures up at some point to show the place.

The icing on an already extremely tasty cake was our landlord Martin. As well as very generously leaving us everything we could ever need in this place, he then spent about 2 hours telling us all about the best places to go in Argentina, followed by a walking tour of the local area to show us the best places to go and eat / shop. Following this he then invited us to his girlfriends apartment tomorrow night for an asado (BBQ) with another couple (Matt Garlick from 2ergo).

After Martin left, we went to sample our first empanadas (South American pastys), after which we went for a wander around the very cool and modern docks. I'm now back at the apartment typing this while drinking the red wine that Martin left for us.

We've booked in for Spanish school from Monday for 2 weeks which I'm looking forward to. A very friendly old guy seemed quite impressed that I was giving the local lingo a go at lunch today, we then attempted a conversation for about 5 minutes, however his English was even worse than my Spanish so we didn't get very far. He gave me the thumbs up though which gives us added incentive to really give it a go ! I want to at least be able to tell people who ask, where we're from and what we're doing here. At the moment I'm just waving my arms about in the air, literally.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



30th August 2008

Taxi!!!!
Taxi Thomas, Taxi!!! Oh boy I am so dissapointed with you. call yourselves travellers! Hmuph you don't know the meaning of the word!!! Joking apart I am pleased to see you have arrived safe and well. Looks like you have landed on your feet!! Keep up the good work with the website, we were very impressed!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb