I heart Bs.As.


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Recoleta cemeteryRecoleta cemeteryRecoleta cemetery

This is the entrance to the cemetery. It is so beautiful.
Hi all,

I'm sure you all know by now that I have officially decided to stay until December. I absolutely love the city. There's so much to see and experience, there's no way it could all be done in one month's time. I really hope those of you that want to can come visit. I can't really do the city justice with my photos and stories, but I definitely try.

Let's see... Last weekend was pretty fun. Friday night, Laura, Andrea, and I met up for a night on the town. First we had a fabulous dinner, as usual. I had a steak, as usual. We had a bottle of wine, as usual. As you can see, that has become our routine for Friday nights. Then off to a bar (another part of our routine). We grabbed a table outside at one of the many bars in Plaza Serrano, and ordered some drinks. A few of my friends from class met us there, and we had a blast just drinking and talking. A while later, we attempted to go to a club. We took a taxi to the Roxy Club, which turned out to be a mistake. The line
TombTombTomb

Just one of the thousands of beautiful and elaborate tombs in the cemetery.
was a mile long, and after waiting thirty minutes and getting nowhere, a couple of us decided to call it a night. It was already 4:30am, and judging by the line, we wouldn't be getting into the bar until well after 5. I grabbed a cab with a couple others and headed home. On Saturday, Sarah (my roommate from Wisconsin) and I went to the feria in Recoleta. We walked around for a while, grabbed a bite to eat, then walked home. I was pretty tired from the previous night, so decided to lay low the rest of the night. On Sunday, I went back to the Recoleta feria to meet Andrea and Laura. After walking around for a while, we decided to go to the Recoleta cemetery to see Eva Peron's grave. The cemetery is so amazing. As you will see in the pictures, the tombs are so elaborate and beautiful, and there are hundreds and hundreds of them. It began to rain a short time after, so we ran to a cafe around the corner. After drying off, we decided to check out the Fine Arts Museum. There was art from all over the world, with a special
Evita's graveEvita's graveEvita's grave

This is Eva Peron's grave. The picture didn't turn out that great, but you get the idea.
exhibit from Korea. It was very interesting and entertaining. We all really enjoyed it.

We didn't have class on July 9th, since that is Argentina's Independence Day. The Tuesday before, I went to a bar with Sarah and Martin (a friend of Eli and Juan's) to see some bands play. We had a lot of fun listening to the bands and dancing. When we left, at 6:30am, the party was still going strong. I took advantage of my day off on Wednesday by sleeping really late and lounging around the house. It was nice. On Friday, we took a field trip to a bookstore. The building is an old theater that has been turned into a bookstore. It was absolutely gorgeous. And huge! There is a cafe on what used to be the stage, where we enjoyed a few cafes con leche.

This weekend was quite fun. A friend of mine from class had a party on Friday night. The party was a lot of fun, and I got to meet a lot of new people. We were all feeling the effects of the night before, so we just bummed around the city on Saturday. Had some delicious
Evita's graveEvita's graveEvita's grave

The plaque on her tomb.
food, some amazing ice cream, just a typical day in Buenos Aires. Which brings us to today. I met Andrea downtown, and we did a little window shopping. We had a bite to eat a little sidewalk cafe on Flordia street, and walked over to Plaza de Mayo. You will see the picture of Plaza de Mayo. It's really beautiful. We just admired from afar since, I'm not sure if you can tell from the picture, there was some major protesting going on. The typical chanting along with the signs, which you quickly get used to living in this city. I got my photo and we continued on our way.

Enjoy the pics. I hope everyone is well. Love and miss you all!

Until next time...



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

STEAK!STEAK!
STEAK!

Just one of the many delicious steaks I've had here. I just wanted to give y'all a visual. Enjoy.
At a ParrillaAt a Parrilla
At a Parrilla

Andrea, Laura, and I at dinner.
At a barAt a bar
At a bar

Some friends from class and I at a bar in Plaza Serrano.
El Ateneo El Ateneo
El Ateneo

The bookstore that we went to on our field trip. Isn't it beautiful?
El Ateneo El Ateneo
El Ateneo

Behind me is the cafe on what used to be the stage. I just adored this place!
El Ateneo El Ateneo
El Ateneo

Part of the ceiling. It was so elaborate and intricate. Once again, the picture doesn't do it justice.
CafeCafe
Cafe

The view from our table at the cafe where we ate.
El ObeliscoEl Obelisco
El Obelisco

El Obelisco is a historical monument of Buenos Aires. Does it remind you of something...?
Plaza de los CongresosPlaza de los Congresos
Plaza de los Congresos

There were tons of protesters, so we didn't get too close.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb