Placement Tests


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

In the morning before class, we explored the city to find a bank and get oriented. We walked nearly all the way to the Casa Rosada (I think that is correct...), which is sort of the the equivalent of the White House. (The president only works there, though. She doesn't live there.) The city is crowded during the day, but I like it a lot.

Today we had our oral exam to decide which class we would be in. Mine went acceptably well, but I need a lot of work to relearn what I once new. This should be an experience...

I'm already picking up on more Spanish than I was at first. I understood the vast majority of the orientation, which is a huge improvement. Buying a notebook by myself this evening was still a bit difficult, but the lady at the store was incredibly nice once she found out that I was here studying Spanish.

So many little things are different: Local phone calls here aren't free...the salad (ensalada) I had for dinner last night was made up of boiled eggs, potatoes, tomatoes, oil, lemon juice, and salt...people don't eat dinner until 9 or so....all greetings and goodbyes involve a kiss on the right cheek... On the whole, though, I like it very much. I'm looking forward to more exploring and my first real day of class tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb