My First Update


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone! I'v never used a blog before, so this will take some getting used to. Hopefully this is an easy way to keep anyone who is interested updated on what is going on here in Buenos Aires.

When we arrived, we took a bus from the airport (traffic was awful! It took almost an hour.) and met our host families. Mine is made up of a mom, her two daughters, and the baby daughter of one of her daughters. Everyone is very nice, but we don't see much of them. When my roommate Jessica and I got to the house, our room was still full of clothes from the girl who lived there before us. Apparently, they usually have 3 or 4 students staying with them at any given time. One girl moved out yesterday, and another is coming tomorrow. This will be interesting. I've never been surrounded by so many women in my life. I suppose it is good practice for the house I'll be living in next year.

We went out on Friday night and got our first taste of Argentine men. Here, they hiss instead of whistle, and there was plenty of that for the girls in the group. I'm pretty sure it is because we practically scream "USA" and because my roommate is one of those girls who tends to get lots of attention. The bar we went to was very different than one in the US. You pay an entrence fee which covers your first drink. The biggest difference is that nothing even opens until 1ish. We didn't get home until around 4.

On Saturday, we got a city tour with the school group and then went to a cultural music and dance event in the evening. We got home around 1am and just went to bed. It is going to take some time for me to adjust to the hours here!

Today we explored Palermo, an area with great open air markets and tons of little shop. We had to take a taxi home, which was quite the experience. Classes start tomorrow. Hopefully, my Spanish will improve rapidly. It currently needs some serious work....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb