Adjusting


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola,

So I have now been in BsAs for two full days and am SLOWLY adjusting to life here.

I have been able to sample some of the local cuisine, which is very delicious I might add. Sunday night Juan, Eli, and Sarah took me walking around the neighborhood a little bit. It was dark, so I didn't see a whole lot, but it was nice to walk around. Then, we went to a restaurante and had pizza and empanadas. They were both delicious. Empanadas look like mini calzones and they are filled with anything you can think of. I've had a few and enjoyed all of them. A little side note: people don't usually eat supper here til around 10 or 11. When we got to the restaurante, it was completely empty (it was 9). Naturally, my first thought was that they were probably about to close, but that was not the case at all. It was too early. As we sat there, people slowly started coming in, but it wasn't until after 10 that there was a decent crowd. Apparently, we are missing out on an extra meal. They eat breakfast and lunch at close to the same times as us, but then around 5 or 6 they have tea, which is your choice of tea or coffee along with pastries. And at 10 or 11 it's time for supper. Also, nobody goes to the bars or clubs before 2am, which means they don't leave until well into the next morning. The time schedule will probably take a little getting used to, but I think I can handle it. I also got to sample mate, which is the local drink. It's made of yerba mate, which is kind of like tea leaves. It's put into a special cup and then hot water is poured over it. They use a special straw with something at the end that keeps the leaves from coming through. It has a very distinct taste. It wasn't bad, but I think something that you develop a taste for. So far, everything I've tried I've liked, so that's good.

On Monday, I had to go to the Universidad to take my placement test, and Eli was gracious enough to go with my in order to help me figure out the bus system. Don't be fooled by how easy it sounds. It takes practice to get the routine down, which I will need a lot of. Or, maybe it's harder for me since I am from a small town that does not rely on public transportation. Either way, it's complicated. Figuring out exactly which bus you are supposed to be taking is a chore in itself, and I would probably still be wandering around the streets had it not been for Eli. Then, you must know where the stops are for your particular bus, since they are not all the same, and hold your arm out to signal the bus to stop once you spot it coming your way. When you get on, you have to tell the driver "noventa" (meaning 90 pesos, the cost for one way) or "un peso" (one peso, which I'm still not exactly sure what that's for). Then you hold on for dear life while the bus driver weaves in and out of the chaos that is the streets of BsAs. From there, you must watch for your stop, if you know what it is, and make your way to the exit door to press the stop button as it approaches. Surprisingly, I have managed to make it to and from school twice, although I didn't get off at the right spot either time. Hopefully, by the end of the week, I will have it down and can venture out into the city with a little more confidence.

The Universidad es very nice. It's very modern and I think fairly new. It is all in one building with 18 floors. That, at least, makes it easier to navigate since you are always in the right building, just maybe not the right floor. The placement test took a few hours, but afterwards they told us which class we were supposed to be in. I am in Intermediate 1. There are 12 people in my class, and they are all from the United States. There are a few girls I talked to and ate lunch with. They are really sweet, and I think we might get together later this week.

That's all the news I have at the moment. Hope everybody is well.

Love and miss y'all

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb