I'm finally here!


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a very long trip, I'm finally here. The trip was okay, and rather uneventful (which isn't bad when flying). I did, however, in this small small world, happen to sit next to a guy on my flight to Buenos Aires that has family in the Mississippi delta. Imagine that. We started talking about where we were from, and when I mentioned Greenwood he said that his father was born there! And that he had family in Belzoni and Isola. It was very interesting and pretty weird. He turned out to be a really cool guy, so we got to laugh and cut up to pass the time on the 10+ hour flight.

I was rather worried about my commute from the Buenos Aires airport after hearing several warnings about the taxi drivers. But, thankfully Eli told me exactly which taxi to take and it turned out to be good advice. And after about a 30 minute drive, I arrived with no problems at all from the driver. Unfortunately it was very foggy (and cold I might add) so the scenery from the airport wasn't quite visible. But I did get ride through a lot of the city, which was completely dead. Apparently Sunday is the day that everybody rests, so I'm sure tomorrow will be quite different. A lot of the architecture is beautiful. Very European.

Eli, Juan, and Sarah were all here to greet me, although they did so rather groggily. They all had pretty late nights last night, so weren't quite feeling their best, which I completely understand. They are all very sweet. I sat down at the dining room table and they immediately started putting things on the table for breakfast. So, I drank a cup of coffee as Juan and Eli attempted to give me the rundown of life in this great city.

Tomorrow will be my first attempt at finding my way around. There is a bus just a couple of blocks from the house that goes to Belgrano, the neighborhood where my school is located. I have to be at the Universidad at 10:30 to take a Spanish placement test. This is how they will determine which class to put me in. I'm kinda nervous about making it there, but I'm sure I will do just fine.

I will email everybody the phone number to my magic jack so y'all can attempt to call me. I will only be able to answer if I'm at the computer though. And you can always skype me.

I love and miss you all!!!


Advertisement



25th June 2008

Are you raedy to come home yet?
Wed miss you and wouldn't be mad if you cut your trip short. I think 1 month is quite enough for Argentina! Cheers, Dad
25th June 2008

yea!
I'm so glad you made it! Keep me updated as to your progress commuting around the city and rapport your rapport with your classmates. I knew you could do it! I gather you didn't get any sleep on the plane. Have you caught up on your rest? How is the food? Love You!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb