Don´t Cry For Me Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 29th 2008
Published: March 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´m having a bloody fantistic holiday with my parents. You´ll never guess what I did yesterday, I went to the world´s only religious theme park. It was the tackiest cheesiest thing I´ve ever seen in my life, not even the Americans could do it! There was a 20 meter fibre-glass Jesus that rose out of the ground every hour. I videoed it and will put the video (and photos) on facebook when I get back to Paraguay. Gotta love those crazy Argentinians. They also had anamatronic shows of the Nativity, Creation and the last supper. It was, well, certainly a unique experience. So to balance it out afterwards we went to the Museum of Fine Art. Of course art can be a bit weird at times too, so it wasn´t actually a step up really. We also went to see a massive metal flower that has solar panels so when it´s sunny it opens and when it´s not it closes. It was really pretty actually.

I also went to an Estancia (not yesterday, just generally whilst in Buenos Aires) which is like a posh ranch, so I mingled with pretentious wine buffs and polo players. I went horse riding (without a helmet, health and safety doesn´t exist in Argentina either) and am still feeling sore. My boor thighs and arse. I had a horse who just always had to be at the front of the line and who wanted to go so much faster than i wanted her to go. If one of the others started cantering she did too despite me telling her to stop. Bloody horse, I chose to ride her cos she was pretty and white, didn´t know she was a maniac! I got offered a job by the owner of the ranch, i´m actually really considering going for it (after i graduate tis is) as i feel it would be the perfect place to find a rich polo playing wine buff future husband, don´t you? Not that I´m mercenary at all...

Also went on a privite tour of the city and then to a dinner and tango show, it was so fantastic, the food was amazing and the dancing was incredible we ended up buying the dvd of the show it was so good. The tour was really interesting Buenos Aires is a fantastic city, it has just so much diversity between it´s different areas. There are really amazing old historic bits and then really trendy new bits. I loved San Telmo as it had loads of fantastic antique shops.

We just arrived in Uruguay today (so the location of this blog is a bit of a lie but I wanted to have a blog from ARgentina too, so I will blog again after spending more time here) to a lovely little town called Colonia, really historic and full of character, I like it. We came by hydrofoil ferry, which was interesting. We have less activities planned for here (though we are also going to Montevideo and Punta del Este), mostly just shopping with Daddy´s money and laying around on the beach. the weather is gorgeous, warm and sunny but not so hot as paraguay that you want to rip your skin off.

It´s so lovely having Mummy and Daddy here, I´d missed them so much. I aloready have two fantastic classic Mum quotes I would like to share;

"My daughter is 19" about me at the Estancia and when I protested that I´m 21, "Well I was closer than the taxi driver, he thought you were 16!"

"She´s a bit boring when we go to restaurants, she always has either scampi or gamon." - Dad
"No, I don´t always have Gamon actually, sometimes I have Scampi!" - The genius of Mum

Gotta love her. I don´t stand much hope when that´s my gene pool though.

They brought me out lots of goodies too, including crisps, chocolate and fajita kits. Oh yesh. I am looking foward to eating all of those. Yummy!

Well I think that about covers our Argentinian adventures! Stay tuned for our Uruguayan adventures! Shame I have to go back to Paraguay after all this.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb