Tuesdays are death


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 21st 2008
Published: March 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have finally started all of my classes...and they all seem like they will be a lot harder than I had planned. On Tuesday, I arrived at UCA just after 7:45 AM for my Creativity class with a new profesor. I switched to another professor who I heard was much younger and better. I heard right. We do almost all of our assignments with Adobe Creative Suite programs, which I love! I'm very excited to learn those programs better and get to use them for my projects. First assignment: pick 3 ads and try to copy them digitally as closely as possible. Second: Make 2 ads against violence in soccer (In response to the recent Argentine killing of a fan last weekend).

Even before the class started, I was offered maté from a girl sitting behind me and that ended up being the perfect beverage so early in the morning! Class ended around 9:30 and I introduced myself to the teacher who, as it turned out, had studied at a design academy in LA and was very familiar with California and English. It was actually worthwhile to opt for the earlier class in order to switch teachers.

As I walked quickly to the Plaza de Mayo Subte station, I startedd sweating. At that point, I remembered that I had packed shorts and flip flops in my backpack to combat the UCA dress code of long pants and real shoes. I had forgotten to change into the more free clothing and would have to wait until I got to UBA to change.

My next class starts at 11 in one of UBA's Social Sciences Building (The main public university of Buenos Aires). The country gives the university close to no funding and, although several aspects of the system suffer, it also adds a great dynamic to the environment. Upon entering the building, I was bombarded by students rallying for more funding and better organization. The walls are littered with political, artistic, and random graffiti. The classrooms may or may not have doors, the seats may or may not have a desk-surface attached, many windows are broken, and a chalkboard is a hot commodity. My 11 oclock class is the discussion section for Seminar on Design Theory. I found my class listed for room 406, and headed upstairs. There were a few people seated outside the class, and nobody inside. I sat down and started talking with my classmates as we waited for the professor. She showed up about 20 minutes later, skinny, tired, and VERY pregnant. She explained a bit about the class and told us something I had not known...that the Seminar was from 7-9 PM on Wednesdays AND Thursdays (I thought we picked one). So, this class has 6 hours of classroom time/week and is only worth 4 credits...If you add in travel time it's closer to 10 hours of classroom time. There were 7 other students in my class and our professor, Natalie said that there might be more the next time. We got out a little early and I went downstairs to buy the reading materials I needed. I didn't have enough cash (they obviously don't accept credit), and walked to the nearest ATM on Corrientes. On the way, I passed some food in a restaurant window that not only looked delicious, but ethnic! I was so excited that after I got some cash I went back and bought some chicken chop suey, then went back to UBA, bought my materials and headed out to Plaza Centenial for lunch. I ate quickly because I had to get back across the city for a two oclock class at the UBA language building.

After a delightful Subte ride with a flautist playing Tango, I got to the language building with minutes to spare. This building is just a couple blocks off Plaza de Mayo and is a great, old building with incredible views out of my classroom. My class is an Oral Workshop for Spanish with 9 other kids from my program and 2 Japanese guys (Aiuki and Mirohishi or somethin...) - they must feel awkward in this class of americans...
The class is all about learning how to speak more effectively and fluidly and I think it will help me a lot. We have two teachers who switch off classes randomly. Next class we will have the other teacher. We got one 10-minute recreo (break) and the class ended promptly at 5. I was standing outside with Sam, a girl in the class when I heard a 'plop' - while I had only heard it, she had felt it as we both looked up to see a grinning pigeon, I saw the watery debris on Sam's shoulder. Disgusting. I'm glad it was her and not me, though. She went back inside to clean up, and I headed home...exhausted. Somehow, I had the energy to go on a quick jog when I got back, and it turned out to be exactly what I needed. My housemates wanted me to go out with them that night, but after such a long day...I needed some sleep.

Advertisement



24th March 2008

Un hombre agraciado
Me gusta sus escritos, sus pensamientos. Despues su experiencia, tu poderas hablar y comprender la lengua Espanol mas mejor de migo ... y, por este, tengo envidia. Buena suerte con afeccion, Ian
26th March 2008

full day!
where are you gonna find time to study if your'e always on the go?
1st April 2008

que bueno su español!
Me encanta que todavía practiques su español. Quizas debería haber escrito este diario en castellano (español), pero así todo el mundo no podría leerlo. Hasta la próxima!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb