Travel Terror: Pickpockets


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 17th 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total WTF-ness,

So yeah, since I currently don’t have any classes on Fridays, a friend and I decided to go out at the last minute (really late). Since we’re both new to the city, we decided to check out a new place (somewhere neither of us had been) that we’d heard about. Anyhow, the night progressed as any would: 1) Hustle to get in free; 2) Check coat, 3) Scope the scene; etc. From the looks of it, this new club was sooo much better than we’d expected, topping most of the other places we’d been to, but that soon came to a screeching halt.

After meeting another group of international students that we pretty much chilled with for most of the night, we decided to hit the dance floor. The night started out GREAT. The only thing that was a lil “off” was the music selection. It’s not quite what we were used to in States (the types of places we usually go), but it was still a good time when with friends. So yeah, somehow, during all of the madness of dancing amongst 100’s of people, I WAS ROBBED. That’s right; somehow, someone had taken my wallet out of my pocket w/o me even noticing. Now that I think about it, this was def possible because of my night’s selection of “baggy” jeans. Basically, at some point in time I decided to put my hand in my front pocket, and lo-and-behold, MY WALLET WAS MISSING, along with some other things from my other pockets.

At that moment, the main thing that was running through my head was, “What’s going to happen to all of my stuff/money?” I was FREAKIN OUT!!! But then, I remembered that everything that I own has a lock on it (bank accounts and such), and luckily I had not been to the bank recently and only had around $50US in my pocket. The good news is that me, being the persistent and slightly panicky person that I am, I hovered around the area for another 30+ minutes before moving an inch, and somehow, by the biggest blessing of all times, I found my wallet. I was simply walking around, looking at the floor, and right when I was about to give up and call it a night, my foot nudged something…MY BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL, BLACK WALLET (yeah, the fact that it’s black thing made it even harder to find).

Yay, the mystery of the missing wallet was SOLVED. Better yet, it still contained everything BUT the money. So yeah, our next move was just to call it a night and get home, so we made our way to the Subte/subway (Note: that was about the only thing that Micky could really afford at the moment )

Looking back on it, last night started out as a GREAT night, and progressed into what I think was a needed awakening. What I’m saying is, now that I have actually been robbed before, I know that I’ll be a lot more careful about my whereabouts and security of everything in the future. In example, the first thing I did this morning was go and make photocopies of all of my “wallet type” documents, something that I “had not found the time” to do in the past. Yeah, my priorities definitely got shifted a bit, but I think it was in a healthy manner. I mean, nobody was hurt, nothing was really lost, and outside of that, it was a pretty rockin’ night.

Tune in next time to see what other crazy/silly/weird occurrences are passing by your’s truly in the good ol’ Bs.As. (Buenos Aires) and BEEYYYOOOONNNNNDDDDDD…



Advertisement



22nd August 2007

watch out!
I'm glad you came through that relatively unscathed, Micky! We're missing you around here and appreciate the updates. Make GCSU proud!
22nd August 2007

Happy!
Hey Mr. Mack, I'm soo happy that you are ok and that you found ur wallet. Man, things out there are serious. I hope you stay on ur toes and forget me not. Love ya! -TK

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb