Argentine Observations: BsAs Initials


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 6th 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola amigos,

So yeah, now I can actually write the note I intended on with just a few things that I have noticed around here.

First off, the program that I am with is great, but the school´s registration system is a bit strange. First we go to whichever classes that we want for 2 WEEKS before having to drop down to the minimum. Anyhow, that´s another story. So yeah, all of the Argentine students are great. Basically, I got put back into the dorms, Buenos Aires style, to live with, eh 60%!I(MISSING)ntl students & 40%!A(MISSING)rg students. It´s cool, nice lil mix of cultures/languages/lifestyles going on.

Anyhow, here go a couple of things that I´d like to share with my peeps back home in the mother land, that´d be America (for me) 😉

1a) The people here drive like they done lost they ever luvin mind. Let me explain. So yeah, most of the streets here in Buenos Aires are one way. Wait, let me rephrase that, ALL of the streets are ONE WAY. So yeah, the cars here pretty much have the liberty to do as they wish, as long as they´re going in the right direction. It´s really strange because even though there are lines on SOME of the streets, NOBODY pays attention to them. So yeah, the cab/bus rides make for interesting transportation (aka - say a quick prayer before getting in). However, I will say that although you may loose all hope of life in the process, they will get you to your destination quick, fast, & in a hurry.

1b) Thanks to Dr.K, I was reminded of another traffic pastime of Bs.As. One thing that they like to do is "claim" their turn on the road. So yeah, if you even try to cross when a car wants to, whether they have the right-of-way or not, they will blink their lights at you. This means, "get out my way unless you want to become a permanent fixture of the road b/c I´m not stoppin." Yeah...

2) Idk who told everyone in this country that it was ok to bring back the mullet/rat-tail, but THEY LIED. There is nowhere that you can go in Bs.As. that is not filled with these monstrosities of hair dues. I mean, why would anyone ever do this willingly, let alone, to their children. Maybe I'll b able to make a public service announcement or something before I leave. Don't worry, I'll bring back photos 😉

3) IT´S HELLA COLD HERE!!! Nuf said.

4) Buenos Aires is REALLY dirty. So yeah, i´m not a city kid. I know this. I´m from a small town and don´t really take part in the big city life that often. Maybe it´s normal, but I do know that from all the big cities that I´ve been to (NY, ATL, CHI, etc) this tops them ALL, X 2. I will note that there is something going on right now with a sanitation strike, but apparently its not too different from how things are usually. So yeah, it´s really sad because this is such a beautiful city that is just being ruined by so much garbage everywhere. Also, the people don´t seem to care AT ALL. They just throw things into the street as they´re walking and such. Yeah, it´s sad...

5) Although it is nowhere as serious as it is in Chile, there are dogs EVERYWHERE in Bs.As. I mean, it´s pretty much impossible to go for a walk in any part of the city without seeing at least 15 dogs every 5 minutes. There are even dogs that come into some of the buildings...WHAT´S THAT ABOUT? My advice to all those Bs.As. (S.A.) bound, "Watch your step!" Another interesting thing is that the strays here are some of the most beautiful dogs you´ve ever seen in your life. I mean, the kinds of dogs that people pay good $$$ for in the good ol´ USA...GO FIGURE.

6) So yeah, now that I´ve gotten accustomed to going out in Milledgeville/Macon, GA I will note that this whole, "clubs don´t even open til 1am" thing is sooooo strange. However, being the novelty that I am here, an African-American from USA, I usually get bumped up in line or don´t have to pay. Don´t ask me why, but I shole aint gonna argue. The other thing is that since the clubs don´t open til later, nobody really leaves until like 7am or later. I will honestly say that the latest I have ever stayed at a club (7.10am) was in Bs.As., Argentina.


There you go. There's you're crash course to Buenos Aires, Argentina. It's a great and beautiful city that's divided up nicely into little "barrios-neighborhoods" that just make every little section of the city so much different from every other part. Well kids, I'm off for now. Hope to hear from you all soon.

Keep an eye out for the next one 😉

Advertisement



22nd August 2007

Driving
Sounds like Puerto Rico driving to me! I am always amazed we get where we are going there as well.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb