I think they are starting a revolution in my building


Advertisement
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am sitting here, in the middle of the day, writing this blog while shivering under my down blanket. We have finally hit winter tempertures and conveniently on the coldest week we have had thus far, the city decided to fix a gas pipe in the street outside of my building. Long story short they "found something wrong with the pipes" which I think means they broke one, and therefore our building is without gas for "an undertermined amount of time". Let me stop here for a minute and explain the uses of gas in Argentinian life. Basically, it is used for EVERYTHING. So, long story short, for the past 3 days and for an "undertermined about of time more" we have no heat, no hot water to take showers, and no gas for the oven, which means we can't cook anything. All the ovens/stoves in Argentina use gas, so neither part turns on without that precious natural resource.
Long story short I think my neighbors have had enough and are planning some kind of underground guerrilla movement. Everytime I go down into the lobby there are groups of men talking in low muffled voices and little old ladies standing around trying to eavesdrop. So fellas, I might be in the middle of history in the making, but right now I am just thinking of burning up the chairs and sitting around my homemade campfire in the middle of my kitchen. Luckily we still have matches.




Advertisement



16th June 2007

Ay, ay, ay!
Poor you! It is soooo cold in BA in wintertime (and I am norwegian! I know what I am talking about!). I cant't imagine how it must be without gas... Hope they fix it rather quickly! Oh, and if there is a revolution, remember to join it! :) Love and revolution! Mari-Kristine

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.1kb