I finally started school!


Advertisement
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After months and months of problems finding a documentary program to study in, I have finally started school, and...well... it is something to get used to. I realized today that is has been almost 2 years to the day since I have attended academic classes and I have to re-accustom myself to studying and doing work again! Frankly, I am a little initimidated by the idea of it.
The school is supposed to be very good. It is a public school so it doesnt have the resources that the private film schools have (all we have is a chalkboard and that gets stolen daily by other classes) but it has a great reputation and as the students keep telling me it teaches something very important; it teaches us how to make documentaries without money. This is a crucial skill to know in the documentary film industry because there is rarely any funding to be had.
To get to school I have to take a collectivo (bus) outside of the city during rush hour. The best way to describe a bus during rush hour in Buenos Aires is to imagine that game where you see how many people you
Professional Dog WalkersProfessional Dog WalkersProfessional Dog Walkers

All over Buenos Aires there are professional dogwalkers who are normally walking about a dozen dogs at the same time.
can stuff into a telephone booth, or how many clowns you can fit in one of those tiny clown cars. There are people hanging out the doors and even more stuffed inside like sardines. You can't move, you can't turn around, you can barely breathe. The policy here is that you enter from the front of the bus but you get off from the bank. The funny thing is, it is impossible to get to the back of the bus to get off; you have to push through a solid block of people and when you do, everyone falls, kind of like dominoes. But it is cool, it is all part of the experience.
So, back to school...somehow I talked my way into the senior year classes so I am with 12 other students who have been studying together for 3 years already and know a lot more film theory (and a lot more about each other) than I do. It is a little intimidating but everyone has been really nice. They sort of treat me like there little pet, they constantly ask me if I know what bus to take home and if I remember where I live so that I get off in the right spot. They also find it really funny that I came to Argentina to study film when they all want to go to the US to study it. School reminds me alot of Laguardia High School; my performing arts highschool in New York, everyone is alternative and artsy... just like the good old days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb