Falling for Argentina


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 28th 2007
Published: March 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hiya bloggos (as I´ve decided to call you blog reader folk). Sorry it´s been a while since the last blog but I am a very busy man these days, as I´m sure you can imagine.

After the Galapagos trip, I had another day in Quito, Ecuador before a crazily scheduled overnight 3-plane trip to Buenos Aires via Lima and Santiago. Don´t asky why. My carbon footprint will be bigger than a yeti´s by the time I have finished the year.

As I may have said before on this blog, you sometimes get the feeling that you are going to like a place the minute you arrive. I got that feeling with Buenos Aires. I was greeted by warm, spring-like weather in Argentina´s capital. The avenues were wide and tree lined. I walked around and marvelled at the architecture (mmmm, gonna get stick for that aren´t I?). At the risk of sounding like Stephen Fry, the Congress building reminded me a little of my old university. The pavements were full of normal people busily going about their business but the place had a relaxed feel. You can see why people call it the Paris of the South. At the same time, it has a little French influence but it´s not quite Paris. There were bits that reminded me of England but it wasn´t quite London. It had elements of Spain but it wasn´t quite Barcelona. It´s hard to describe but the city had a great buzz about it.

I suppose there was something normal about Buenos Aires that I hadn´t experienced since I left London. The craziness, the danger, the constant honking of horns had been watered down and replaced with a little bit of Latin chic. (Oh no, now I´m starting to sound like a fashion magazine writer - note to self - possible career option). I spent several pleasant days in the cafes and restaurants of Buenos Aires watching the world stylishly go by. Well, I was concentrating mainly on one particular half of the population that was going by. Ladies, please look away now. Gentlemen, everything you have heard and read about Argentinian women is true. Get yourself out here for a look as soon as you can. Ladies, you can look again now. Don´t worry, you didn´t miss much.

I couldn´t leave Buenos Aires without fulfilling one of the trip´s objectives - seeing some football in South America. So, I found myself at the Bomboñero watching Diego Maradona´s old team, Boca Juniors, up against Rosario Central. I went on an organised trip and met a charming Swede called Kristina, who had to endure my company for the afternoon. She used to be a footballer so didn´t come out with usual dumb bird comments about footy. I was impressed with her knowledge. I was even more impressed when she returned from a half time comfort break with two Argentinian sausage sandwiches - one of them for me! Good move! Oh, and Boca drew 1-1. The game was good but the crowd atmosphere was better.

I even managed to squeeze in a visit to a bonus country. I spent 3 very pleasant days in the historic town of Colonia del Sacramento in Uruguay. It started life as a smuggling port used by the British to get goods into Spanish-controlled Argentina. Hawkins would have liked it. Mid-way through my last day there, I was calmly strolling around the town square pondering which coffee shop to visit when I had that strange sensation of hearing my name being called in a country far away from home. It was Kristina, my friend from Boca Juniors! She was in the middle of a walking tour so we quickly arranged to have dinner that night. And we had a marvellous meal at the Colonia Yacht Club that evening. This backpacking lark - woo, it´s tough.

I was sorry to leave Uruguay so quickly but I had to crack on. I hadn´t been to a beach for several days so I made my way to Pinamar on the coast. It was what I was expecting and hoping for. Pretty much an Argentinian seaside town with very few backpackers. I put my feet up for 3 days and enjoyed the great beach, the cooling ocean and ate more steaks than is probably good for you. I also made the great discovery of a vintage pinball arcade.

My time in Argentina came to an end all too quickly with a final couple of days back in the capital. It´s an early contender for my favourite country visited so far. And Buenos Aires is an new entry in my list of favourite cities. Will I be back? Who knows? That will have to remain a mystery for now!

Next time - it´s time for me to use all my "it´s going to be chilly outside" gags, I venture deep, deep south and the tour party doubles in size as a pal from London joins me!

Hope everyone is OK back in England.

Joff



Advertisement



8th March 2007

Dirty
I feel slightly unclean reading this - far too much Argie love for my liking!! remember the words of the great Alf Ramsay! Next you'll be telling us that you forgive Ronaldo and all his 2006 antics!! (you can't forgive or forget a football related grudge!!) tut tut tut - you've been away from home for too long. (Hope you're having fun!!)

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb