Buenos Aires: First Impressions and Getting Oriented


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 4th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


It has been a week since I arrived in Buenos Aires. First impressions have been very positive. In short, the best way to describe this place is to imagine NYC or Paris. Like these other great cities, Buenos Aires is vibrant and has something to offer everyone. I came in on a Sunday and stayed in the MicroCenter (Downtown area). While the streets were quiet as most things are closed on Sundays, the City came to life at night with street performers on the pedestrian streets of Florida and Lavalle.

I spent much of the week getting oriented and settled. It´s a pretty easy city to navigate with the center having a grid system of Avenues and Streets similar to New York. Even though I tend to walk everywhere, they have the very convenient Subte (Metro) and elaborate Colectivo (bus) systems.

I haven´t made much of a point to see specific sights as I imagine this city is best enjoyed by feeling the vibe and going with the flow. Having said that, I did get to know the Recoleta area of the City quite well. Aside from being a nice residential area, it is where one can find the famous cemetery and museums.

Plans for next week include getting my travel plans sorted and exploring more of the City.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb