Mediterranean Cruise 2016 Day 15


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Mediterranean
October 8th 2016
Published: October 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today is full day at sea as the ship heads for Naples. It is a blessed chance to relax, recharge batteries, and to play catch-up on the accursed blog. Yet another beautiful day. Now in the open sea, the ship is rolling somewhat.

We eat at the Pinnacle Grill, the boat's premium restaurant, for lunch. It is very good. The server recommends the hamburger, weirdly enough, so I shrug my shoulders and order it. It is absolutely huge, at least a pound of meat, delicious but extremely messy. So I find myself sitting in a fancy restaurant with white linen everything and the server wearing white gloves, and here I am with my mouth forced open as wide as possible and juices running down my face into my beard.

We have signed up for a wine tasting in the afternoon. Fully 12 different wines from all over the world. Canada is even represented by a Cab Sauv from Mission Hill, B.C., but it is actually probably my least favourite. Winner for me is an Argentinian Malbec. Afterwards, participants find that they are no longer stumbling as the ship rocks.

Formal evening tonight, which means we dress up in our best duds. Our table mates tonight are a couple from Seattle and a couple from San Diego who are a mixed marriage of German and Mexican. Everything is smooth until discussion turns to the U.S. election. Some strong feelings there.

Song and dance show tonight with the performers poured into Bob Mackie costumes, whatever that means. High production values, excellent execution.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb