Best Sign-On Day Ever . . .


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Caribbean
October 4th 2009
Published: October 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me Zsuszi & HayleyMe Zsuszi & HayleyMe Zsuszi & Hayley

Friends from the Liberty
I'm back at it again.

It really didn't seem like it was going to happen for much of my summer at home, but I have landed another ship contract that not only employs me until next summer but I'm really excited about doing. My first month or so is going to be pretty hectic as I'm hopping around to different ships, but it's goingto be a good one.

Today I signed onto the Carnival Conquest. I'm only going to be here a week, to do my return contract corporate training and get caught up on work policy changes. But it's going to be a good week! I have so many friends on this ship that I know from previous contracts so I've already had some pretty great reunions. I'm looking forward to spending time with all these friends here. But also all the new people I've met here are pretty great too. I already can tell that I would have had such a great time were I to stay here longer, but I've got other things with my contract that I'll be fighting for more.

Yesterday I flew from Toronto, via Detroit to Houston where I spent the
Katie & IvanaKatie & IvanaKatie & Ivana

Ivana & I worked on the Triumph together
night in a hotel. Savoured the last unlimited internet I'd get for awhile. Had a great dinner. Sprawled out in my king-sized bed! Then this morning I took the shuttle down to Galveston to board the Conquest. On the bus I met a girl named Katie who as it turns out will be working in my department. She's a brand-new hire, never been on a ship before. We spent the couple hours waiting off the ship to get on with me telling stories and answering questions. It's got me thinking a lot back to my contract, first cruise, first day . . . such an overwhelming thing. Once we got on the ship and did all the paperwork to sign on, I dropped my luggage in my cabin and hopped down the crew stairs and it hit me - I'm really back. And what's crazy is that that didn't make me feel nervous or even excited. It just felt right. I'm not sure what to make of that - if it's a good thing or if it means I need to get out of ships because I'm getting too comfortable!

Katie and I grabbed some lunch in the mess
Our TableOur TableOur Table

About half the team at Supper Club
and met Jen, the Youth Director, our supervisor onboard. One of the first things Jen told us is that tonight our entire department was going out to supper club together and we were included in that reservation! Supper Club is the 6-star dining experience on some of Carnival's ships and the food is out of this world incredible. It's been almost a year and a half since I've been on a ship with a supper club. This was something I was pretty excited about being able to have, but I never expected it on my first day onboard!

The afternoon was spent running around, meeting people including my co-director for the week, Andy, and doing the required safety training for first day onboard. Then, I was off to Supper Club! There I met the rest of the department and was reunited with 3 girls who I've worked with on previous ships. So good to see them! Hugs all around. And then there was lobster and escargot and tropical fruit and sushi and shrimp all around . . . Best. Sign. On. Day. Ever.

After our nearly 3 hour dinner (it really is an experience!) Andy and I worked
A Chopstick LessonA Chopstick LessonA Chopstick Lesson

Andy showed Ivana how to use her chopsticks.
in the club for the night. It's pretty quiet right now, but the teens who came out were so sweet and friendly. Nice Texans.

Then tonight there were more reunions - my friend Adrian from the Fantasy, my friend Ricardo from the Triumph, my dear dear dear friend Lonnel who I was with on the Destiny the first time I was there . . . Oh I love getting to see them all!

And now I'm happily curled up in bed. Long day but a great day. It's going to be a great week here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Supper Club SingingSupper Club Singing
Supper Club Singing

Chris (who will be transferring with me next week) kept singing along to the muzak during dinner and I kept trying to get it on film. This is the closest I got - but it looks like our server is singing to him instead!


12th October 2009

I'm glad you're glad.
Enjoy this next year of cruising Netter. Thinking of you always.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb