What ho everyone


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic
April 3rd 2009
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post


Sorry about gap - connection probs. on the boat. You'll be relieved to know I'm well and not overworked.
Almost completed our flit across the Atlantic & heading for Gibraltar Straits. Had to miss out Madiera as one of the ship's engines has gone wonky, and full speed not available. Unfortunate as it messes up the entertainment exchanges. They've got the facilities to rebuild so I hope they're getting on with it...... May have been something to do with the engine room tour I undertook - I didnt touch anything, honest! They're massive marine diesels, nice and noisy, comsumption 1 gallon every 30 yards! Not the old type with moving rods & eccentrics, like the Woolwich ferry circa 1955 (which I unfortunately remember), just square blocks, only sign of movement the rotating spindles which drive the twin screws & other ship systems. Those systems have to be pretty comprehensive, there's 2000 passengers here, mostly 17 stone plus, 600 little brown crewmen & 6 hardworking musicians! Also had a trip on the bridge, wore a captain's hat - little pleasures, but not much to do on a sea crossing. Have discovered the crew sundeck, a pleasure to escape the passengers with their squabbles over the sunbeds (don't think it's just the Krauts), only problem it's below the funnel, the black patches are fine if 'Mammy' is on the show that evening. Have done the Bucks Fizz show - aaaaarghhhhh! For once in my life I had to practice & it's just as well I did. Their stuff sounds simple but isn't. Full of licks, chops, funky bits & odd keychanges. I think I passed the test. At least no-one threw anything.... Sea days do get boring, and we'll have had 7 on the trot, Malaga is now the next port when I hope to get on a bike again, then Palermo, finally Heraklion where they get rid of me. It's been a great time so far. Met plenty of people, including a lady I'll keep in touch with.
More anon. I hope - your intrepid seaman
D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb