To bow or to curtsey?


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Saint Helena
August 12th 2011
Published: August 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday 12th August

Have you noticed an absence of blogs from the South Atlantic recently? Well, I sometimes have to remind myself that this is a working trip and not a holiday. This week has been pretty full and has required most of my day time which rather got in the way of further adventures or excursions.

However, one thing I have managed to squeeze in a couple of times is an evening meal (much like a restaurant) but taken in someone’s home. The home is used as a place of business when groups book a meal. I thought that I might find it a little uncomfortable doing this but, of course, it’s absolutely fine. But, crikey, they do like to eat in quantity out here. Usually three main courses – but with the expectation that you will have some of each – usually a curry, a fish (Yahoo probably) and roast pork or beef – I have seen plenty of goats secured in small fields ready for business so, maybe Thursday dinner was a bit of nanny or billy.

This is my last full day on the island. The RMS arrived in harbour this morning with a resounding call from its horn. Well, how to fill this last day? I shall be visiting schools this morning to take some photo snaps and say farewells – rather sad, actually. Lunchtime will be taken up with a meeting with the Governor that was arranged at the last minute. How will I recognize him – will he be the one with the plumed hat. And, in this democratic age, what does one call the representative of the queen?

I will let you know how it goes when I write a brief final blog from the UK after a short stay on Ascension. Many years ago I applied for the headteacher job on the island. I never heard anything back, I can only assume that the application got lost in the post – I’ll have a look to see if the letter is lying around somewhere.


Advertisement



12th August 2011

Homeward bound
Looking forward to seeing you and hearing about those exploits that you felt you couldn't share publicly. I checked, and there's still a drop of Campari left behind the bar...
12th August 2011

Safe journey home...
...I bet Much Wenlock features in your top three places to visit soon?

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb