The cruel Atlantic


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » North Sea
October 22nd 2022
Published: October 22nd 2022
Edit Blog Post

We are now on the high seas. Our two ports in Europe, La Harve in France and Plymouth in England started out rainy but cleared up as the days went on. I had planed to explore Devon and experience Devon High Tea but it was a tender port, the seas were rough and my back is aching. So I bailed.



Last night I enjoyed a lovely veal chop and capped the evening off listening to the rock group. I so wanted to get up and dance but sanity prevailed. One brave woman got on the dance floor solo and the lead guitarist joined here for a bit.



The seas began to get rougher by bedtime. During the night we were rocking and rolling and today there is rain, thunder and high swells. I am thankful for my cane. It’s 59degrees, pouring rain and winds are 30 mph. There is a weather system to the south and the Captain is adjusting course to avoid the worst. Although I enjoy the feeling of being at sea, I hope the weather will change.



Uncle!!! It’s now three days later and the seas are still rocking. So much so that the stern leaves the sea and returns with a giant thud. So much so that I haven’t left my aft balcony room for over 24 hours. Yesterday morning I headed forward to the library and to pick up Advil. By the time I got back to my room I was in a cold sweat. I think I really did it with the fall in JFK. Flat on my back in bed, I enjoyed a movie marathon then ordered High Tea for dinner and settled in for the night.





This morning the skies are partly cloudy but the sea is still running wild. Enough already

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.7kb