Myanmar (Burma)


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic » Atlantis
May 13th 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 20.4475, 99.8808

I can't believe I'm right at the Burmese border, I never thought my journeying would bring me here but I suppose there have been many changes recently!


I checked out of Thailand and crossed over to Tachilek in Burma via a bridge and the usual border signs for leaving and entering which I love, it always fills me with such a sense of excitement. As I am not on my own with my bike it's also my first experience of queue on a land crossing and there's a different attitude towards you. When I'm on my own with my bike you really do get a greater deal of respect and wonder I think, but when with a big group of tourists you're more just a number.


I have to admit that the Burmese officials were much friendlier than the Thai ones, they were keen for you to come and visit even though my journey is only for a short time. I go through all the form filling and I'm given my entry permit and I'm no sooner over the border when I'm approached by tuk tuk drivers to take me into town, however my plan is to go
round the market near the border instead of venturing off too far.


I enjoy the differences between the two countries although fairly subtle and enjoy the experience, straight away I notice the tuk tuks seem plainer, more simple I think. I find the people in the market really friendly and fun, they have a different sense of humor which I like straight away, and I enjoy their banter. One guy is trying to sell me cigarettes for only 40 baht for a carton, that's a ridiculous price, 86 pence for 200 cigarettes, I know cigarettes are cheap here but come on, they're even cheaper than Thailand around 20 pence a pack, no wonder everyone seems to smoke! I think a number of people stock up on these kind of items to make a profit when they return to Thailand and I'm not surprised! He was a funny guy though and managed to catch me more than once while I was going round the market, making me laugh every time.


The market has some lovely items for sale, I need to remember that I have a bicycle and I can't buy extras however I do give in and buy
a wee souvenir of being here. I choose two lovely jade and silver pendants (well I couldn't decide between them), they're small but beautiful and won't weigh me down, good decision I think.

I would love to see Burma properly and experience the country further, it's not really on my plans at the minute but you never know... I enjoyed my brief encounter with it anyway before setting off once more for Chiang Mai 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.3kb