Wat Doi Suthep


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
May 14th 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 18.8, 98.98


When I return to Chiang Mai I'm pleased I have another two weeks stay in Thailand, I've only seen a tiny part of the city and I need to get back to hospital for a check up before returning to Laos. The journey to and from the border wiped me out for a day or so but I'll make an effort to get back on my feet while I'm here and see some of the sights of this beautiful place.


The main thing I want to see in Chiang Mai is Wat Doi Suthep, a Buddhist temple which sits high on the mountain overlooking the city, Bob and I head off one morning to get a red bus up to it but it was going to cost around 600 Baht between us, mmm not good! Instead we walked over to the moat to try and get a better deal but they all seem the same, they take you up and wait before returning to the city so it takes a fair bit of time. I saw a young Chinese guy trying to arrange a lift with one of the same buses for his family (seven people in total) and
asked if we could join them to share the cost, which he agreed. They plan on going not only to Doi Suthep but the Tiger Kingdom and the PhuPing Palace as well and we managed to get the bus for all nine people for 700 baht in total using it for our various destinations and agreed a return time of 7pm that night… result!


So he gathered all his family and we set off, he brought his wife and daughter, his parents plus his wife's parents, we were a lively team and with some English spoken we enjoyed each other's company, they were good fun. Our first stop was at a viewpoint on the way up the mountain which overlooks the city, we've hardly been away but have climbed considerably in such a short period of time just to this point, impressive. Nest stop is at Phu Ping Palace, I buy a ticket for entry but I also have to cover up with a sarong and long sleeve jacket which I had to hire from them which was a bit annoying, especially as we weren't gaining access to any of the temples or the palace!


The main attraction here is the gardens which are beautiful but it would have been nicer if the sun was shining instead of the overcast day we had. There's music playing throughout the gardens which is really nice, the speakers are hidden in pretend rocks and trees to protect them from the weather which is a nice touch. There's a lovely rose garden near the top next to a tiny wee temple which is the cutest thing ever, definitely my favorite. A big lake with water features is right in the middle, plus massive bamboo plants are doted around and huge trees, it is obviously a very well established garden; well it is the Royal Residence I suppose, but only in the winter.


Next stop is Wat Doi Suthep which I was looking forward to and the sun came out, the 300 stairs leading up to the temple have the usual Naga snakes (seven headed snakes) protecting them, and thankfully the steps aren't too much for me. There's actually a cable car that you can take up but I'm trying to keep moving as much as possible, I always find that big group tours and Chinese in particular use the cars but not the ones I'm with today which is a nice change.

There are huge statues at the top of the stairs and I'm directed to buy a ticket and once again another cover up, a sarong only this time which is lovely on. The temple is full of tourists and is a really interesting place, I instantly take to it and could wander around here for a long, long time. There's a massive gold stupa in the middle with temples all around it, other Buddha statues are all inside under cover and I lost count of how many there are – it's quite a sight! People are praying in all the temples and getting blessed by monks with water, I love the smell of the incense and I'm drawn in to say my own prayers too, let's face it, I need all the help I can get at the minute! Round the perimeter there are huge bells and even more temples plus another view to the city 15 km below, my bedroom actually looks out to this mountain view and I can see it lit up in the evenings.


When we eventually leave, we go to the Tiger Kingdom but as time is getting on, on arrival we are recommended not to go in to see the adult tigers, only the cubs and I can see why, I've put a video on You Tube of the adults jumping around playing in their enclosure, showing just how active they were (
). The young Chinese couple took their daughter in to see the cubs but she was pretty terrified of them until they eventually calmed her down, in fairness they were bigger than her.


On return to Chiang Mai we get dropped off at one of the evening markets which was full of local and handmade produce, local musicians playing and lots of places to eat and drink and I must admit it's the best market I've been in for a long time. The produce all seems of a better quality than the other markets I've been in, and there's more choice of things, the traditional music is a nice touch and I'm even trying the food again, I'll definitely be back.


Over the next couple of weeks I take some time to explore and find all sorts of night markets and bazaars and even shopping malls plus many more temples of
course and I manage to venture out and about a bit further and to more local places, even down to the river. Although still spending my time with Bob, I meet more new friends but unfortunately it was on one of my last days I met Caroline and Janice who were both good fun characters to be with, it was a shame I hadn't meet them a few days earlier but hopefully we will meet again.


All in all Chiang Mai is a really beautiful city which was just what I needed, a place I could wander easily and in peace without being harased and has a nice relaxed feel to it, I am glad I traveled up here although disappointed I couldn't take part in the more adventurous sports, but soon I hope, soon...


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



12th June 2013

View of Chiang Mai from Doi Suthep

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb