How I Learned to Backpack Alone


Advertisement
Oceania
November 11th 2009
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When I did my first backpacking trip to Australia, I went alone. None of my friends wanted to come with me, and frankly, I wanted to experience the adventure on my own. When I first arrived in Sydney, I had no idea what to expect. I had no idea what the hostels would be like, I had no idea what the food would be like, worst of all I had no idea what the people would be like. To be perfectly honest, I was a little bit afraid.

The reality was that everyone and everything worked out to be awesomely unique experiences. The hostels were good, the food was great, and the people were fantastic. The only thing I didn’t count on was how much time I would end up spending on my own.

Even though I met a number of people in my travels, it was usually only temporary. Everyone was always bouncing around so quickly. The friends that I did make, seemed to come and go in an instant. It was a totally different experience from back home. It took a couple of weeks for me to get used to this, but soon I was addicted to the process. I was meeting new people every single day!

Even though I was constantly meeting new people, I still found myself alone - a lot! It is the casualty of the process. When people move on, or when you move on, you start all over again, without anyone to converse with (until you meet your next friends of course). At first it can seem really boring, but after a while you get used to it. It actually becomes somewhat addictive. I loved the fact that everyday, every decision , and every moment was completely within my realm of control. At no other point in my life have I felt so liberated… so free. It is an awesome experience and if youhave the courage to go it alone, you will not regret it one bit.

The only down side is that if you find yourself alone, you are REALLY alone, with no one to talk to (except yourself of course). However, I loved it. I spent time writing in myjournal, meditating, and simply relaxing by the beach. I took tours, went on hikes, and chatted up the other backpackers in my hostels. It was everything I had dreamed a backpacking journey would be - and more! It was a fantastic experience! It gave me time to connect with my inner-self. It gave me time to appreciate my thoughts. Something I hadn’t done for years.

I got so used to spending time on my own that I actually went to my first movie by myself. It was an awesome experience. An experience that is described in detail in my upcoming book: Beyond the Vacation.

My advice is: whatever circumstance you find yourself in, find a way to make the most of it. If you find yourself alone for a short while, use the opportunity to become best friends with yourself again. Backpacking can offer so many wonderful things, so be open, and find ways to enjoy the world solo - if only for a while.


Advertisement



12th November 2009

envy at you
i have i have the courage to start travelling alone and putting back all the burden i am having rite now. though it might sound dangerous but it must be really nice to be away, free from people that know me and start behaving like myself instead of pretending to be someone people like in the current life i have now

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb