Brrisbane and Australian zoo


Advertisement
Oceania
October 27th 2005
Published: November 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Nancy and a KoalaNancy and a KoalaNancy and a Koala

Australian Zoo
We arrived in Brisbane on Monday afternoon, Oct 24th. We picked up a rental car at the airport, and managed somehow to fit: 2 full knapsacks, 1 large suitcase, 1 stroller, 1 car seat and 3 small knapsacks, plus the 4 of us into the car and away we went. Monday afternoon was spent navigating to Sarah's friends place, getting groceries for the next few days, and having an afternoon sleep. We had a lovely dinner on Monday night with Sarah's friends Gord, Sheryl and Sally.

On Tuesday, we were suppose to head to the zoo but Nathan didn't have a good day on Monday, so we postponed our trip by one day and that gave me the day to spend in Brisbane. I decided to do the "hop on hop off" bus ride around the city as that would give me the best views of the city, plus I have done previous hop ons in other cities (London, Madrid, and Barcelona). Well I think those cities have spoiled me as Brisbane was not exactly thrilling. First of all, no double deck bus, no 6 languages to choose from for your audio tour, just a converted old city bus that thankfully had air conditioning. The bus driver gives the audio portion of the tour and it is hit and miss depending on the driver you get. I had a "not so good one" for my first loop but on my second loop, I had a really good driver. Hopped off at South bank and spend the afternoon there. Took a ferry back to the apartment (it did feel a lot like the water taxies around my place in Van) and we left for Sarah's cousin for the night.

We stayed at Kristine and Ethan's place on Tuesday night. They fed us our first Aussie BBQ - so yummy! Their son Aidan, gave up his room so that I good have a good night's rest- thanks so much Aidan!

We headed to the Australian zoo on Wednesday morning. We were greeted by a camel at the entrance to the zoo. I had my picture taken with this camel ( I will add it as soon as I can). I went to the crocoseum and I watched a tiger show, a snake show ( I actually touched a snake), a bird show and a crocodile show. After the shows, I
downtown Brisbanedowntown Brisbanedowntown Brisbane

view from the ferry
met up with the family, and we headed to the kangaroos. I have a video clip of me playing with the kangaroos. At the end of the day, I was able to get my picture taken with a koala (I will post the picture at the next stop). After leaving the zoo, we headed north and met up with Chris's sister's boyfriend who is living in Australia for 6 months. Brent cooked us an awesome dinner and gave us a place to stay for the night. After leaving Brent's place, we headed south to Surfers Paradise for lunch and a walk along the beach. We then headed south to Byron Bay, where we are staying for 3 days, leaving on Sunday. We arrived in Byron Bay, all ready to camp for 3 days. It was going to be my first experience camping with a baby. Heck, I only have 2 previous camping experiences, so I am not exactly an expert.

Stayed tuned to find out what happened! and I will post pictures ASAP. I forget my cord for the camera today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

interesting signinteresting sign
interesting sign

This sign was found outside an apartment building in brisbane. I think it means no parking
Tiger ShowTiger Show
Tiger Show

Australian Zoo
Crocodile ShowCrocodile Show
Crocodile Show

Australian Zoo


1st November 2005

Hello!
Hey Nancy ... journeyed over to your blog after reading Chris and Sarah's. Love the diving pics. Can't wait to hear about camping experiences with our favourite outdoor adventurers ... Nathan can't be anything but a born camper!! :) - Sheri

Tot: 1.891s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb