Day 20


Advertisement
Oceania
November 17th 2007
Published: December 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A sudden storm erupted during our flight. Lighting and rain bombarded our plane from all four corners. The wind made it no easier to maneuver to plane. On the wind monitor, it registered as wind speeds equal to wind speeds that’s created by a category five
hurricane. All systems seemed to be shutting down. We were loosing hydraulic fluid and electricity. I tried all I can to restore the
vital systems, but I had no luck. Our only hopes of survival were to parachute down. We all put on life jackets and parachutes. I then
lowered the plane’s speed and the altitude. I opened the door and we all jumped out one by one.
I awoke with the sun in my eyes and the waves crashing on my body. I was on a beach, and to my surprise, no one was there; not one of my friends. I got on my knees and started to cry, thanking god because he saved our lives. It took me a few minutes to get over myself. I wiped off the tears and stood up. I looked around and then started to look for my friends.
It was a matter of time until I found my way to them. They were only a half mile up the beach when I saw them. I was grateful that they survived. Only bad part was that Preston had a broken leg. We all sat in the shade and talked, just talked about the pass three weeks and near death experience. We all had the same feeling inside and that was we were all very grateful that nobody died. Obviously, we were shaken up form this experience and I guess we all learned something from this pilgrimage, life could be taken away without notice and that is why people must live their life to the fullest. The saying goes, “one moment your there, the next moment your not.”
We had no intentions of finding a way off this deserted island at the very moment. We knew we were on a Pacific Island, we were still shaken up about it, and it would be stupid to go off and get lost with a psychology like that. At that moment, we made the best of our situation and made a small hut out of palm leaves and branches. We then made a fire by rubbing two pieces of wood and creating an ember to ignite a kindling bunch to light large dry logs. As night fell, we stood around the fire and talked about our pilgrimage and our experiences during our pilgrimage. We all had interesting stories to tell, but the subject that came up a lot is why did we go on this pilgrimage and why did we visit the places we visited. The answer was that our pilgrimage was about going around the world and visiting places that we once have dreamed of visiting one day, experiencing different aspects of life, in which only few did, but many have dreamed of doing, and learning about our selves as a group and an individual.
The night got quiet, as we all feel asleep. I spent $0.00.



Advertisement



Tot: 1.936s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb