a little rain


Advertisement
Samoa's flag
Oceania » Samoa » Upolu » Apia
October 13th 2007
Published: October 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I think it is going to rain again.

The rainy season seems to have started as soon as September finished. Last Sunday as I started walking home after to'ona'i (the reason I don't miss Thanksgiving: every Sunday is a Thanksgiving in Samoa; I am going to get so fat), the sky ripped its belly open and I was immediately soaked.

I decided to walk the rest of the way home.

On my way, I saw a sign for Samoan Prayer House. I was intrigued. I followed the signs up a hill, past a church youth practice, some faleoloa, and lots of Samoans confused about what a palagi would be doing by herself on a Sunday in the rain, I found the most beautiful building I have ever seen in Samoa. Not to say that a fale has no charm- I love them, bright paint, thatched or corrugated metal roofs and all- but my heart responds to my heart beauty, if that makes any sense, and this building actually made me ache, it was so lovely. It looked out over the bay of Apia, huge, sweeping and marvelous.

I walked the rest of the way home in a rapture (and more rain), thanking God and Samoa for all the surprises they are.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb