Ma'asina, Fagaloa Bay


Advertisement
Samoa's flag
Oceania » Samoa » Upolu » Ma'asina
November 13th 2007
Published: November 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This weekend I went to Ma'asina, a village in Fagaloa Bay, which is absolutely beautiful. There are no hotels or anything, no restaurants, just hospitable people. I love going there.

When I go, I take oso, a small gift of some sort of food, usually peanut butter, cookies or lollies, chips, some kind of fruit that's easier to get in town like pineapple, Milo (kind of like ovaltine, but tastes better), and I give it to my family that I stay with as soon as I get there. It's best if I do it right away, and give it to the oldest member of the family, who in my family is a woman who just celebrated her 80th birthday.

Once I'm there, then I can do what the family is doing. One time when I came, that meant helping make the morning tea for an army of cricket players from the next village. Sometimes I go to choir rehearsal. And it always means playing with kids.

I never know what kids will be there, but they are always there. This time, there was a little girl there that I had never met before, and her mother, whom I had also never met, and a new random family member from the Mormon side of the family who had been sent to Fagaloa to help out with taking care of that family. It's never the same, but it's always fantastic.

Ma'asina is the epitome of Samoan hospitality, with wonderful people in a spectacular setting. The bay spreads out on one side, the mountains come up right behind it, waterfalls and rainbows follow the rain- it really is an incredible place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



26th November 2007

my family lives at Maasina Fagaloa
who ever went there my parents are the faifeau or minister in the EFKS church in Maasina Fagaloa....i hope you got some more photo from Maasina Fagaloa...that the best village ever in Upolu....

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb