Raglan and traditional maori night


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
April 25th 2016
Published: April 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hello again,

I took the bus from Auckland to Rotorua and we made an overnight stop in Raglan. It is a very nice surfertown with spectacular views. The beach was very nice and there were alot of surfers going crazy on the waves. Our group had a few Dutch people in it so that was really nice. We had fish and chips on the observation deck where we watched the sun set. I have rarely felt so calm watching the ocean, it was a good thing I did that for sure! The next day we headed to Waitomo. There were a few options for the caves but they all were very expensive so my newfound swedish friend, David, and I went to do the free walking route. The countryside reminded me of lord of the rings constantly so that was when I knew it was my childhood dream coming true! David knew a lot about the Bilberberg group and the powers at be, so it was very refreshing to meet someone who knows about the same things I do. We walked and talked for a couple hours before departing for Rotorua where the Maori night was planned. It was a lot of fun to learn about their culture and see how they lived. All the men had to do a Haka ( traditional war dance to intimidate the enemy )which was super exciting and fun to do. We all slept in a building which housed their ancestors and spirits. The maori have a very rich and interesting culture so I was really glad I got the chance to experience it. The next day was Hobbiton!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.9kb