Hello, 2016!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
January 6th 2016
Published: January 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I was back in NZ just in time for NYE. On the 30th, Oli and I drove 3 hours South East of Auckland, to a beach side town called Mt. Maunganui, to spend the new year's weekend with our friends, who were house sitting on a farm. Our friends, Scott and Dani, are so amazing and I was very happy to be spending NYE (and my birthday!) with them. On the 31st, Oli and I spent the morning at this beautiful waterfall where he gave me some birthday prezzies and delivered the best news ever - that he had gotten his Canadian visa and that he was coming to Canada! I was (and still am) so very happy. It was really good news to receive on my birthday. We then joined the rest of the gang at the beach for a three hour surf. The water was warm, the sun was out, the waves were perfect. Everything was exactly how I wanted it to be! Scott and Dani are incredible surfers, so it was really nice having them there to get pointers from. I didn't catch as many waves as I wanted to but I had so much fun and that's all I was hoping for anyway! After our surf, we were all tuckered out so we grabbed some falafels and headed back to the farm. At the farm, I spent the rest of the day playing with spice the goat, cheznie the pig, lammie the lamb, Vegas and Zita the fox terrier puppies and four cats who I've forgotten the names off. Spice was especially so affectionate, and even would wag his tail when I would pet him. That night, the owners of the farm came back and we all had a lovely little party to ring in the new year. A couple more of our friends joined us from Auckland and it was really lots of fun spending NYE with so many wonderful people that I didn't even know at this time last year. We all bonded over our love for travelling and shared how grateful we all were that we had the chance to get to know one another.
I cannot believe the year Ive had. 2015 has been so very good to me. 2015 didn't exactly start on the best note for me, I was feeling really sad about myself and didn't have nearly as much confidence as I do now. As low as 2015 was, I can say now that its been equally as high. I have met so many spectacular people, seen so many amazing places and discovered so much about myself. I am much happier, healthier and excited for what 2016 will bring.

For those of you reading this blog, thanks for sticking with me and happy new year to you!! Wishing you all the best in 2016.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb