Languages


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
February 28th 2015
Published: February 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I have this roommate (one of the many in my 12 bed dorm style room) who came to New Zealand to learn English. He's from France. He has got to be one of the friendliest people I've met since I've been here. You can tell that he's the sort of person that is genuinely kind-hearted and down to earth. The funny this is, I make these assumptions about the type of person that he is but we can't seem to communicate with each other long enough to confirm if any of those things are true. I guess understanding each other isn't reallly that important to see that someone is as kind and warm as you perceive them to be. Well, it is, but I mean purely from a language stand point. Anyway, I think I'm rambling a bit but the point is that it's amazing how much we're able to get along without really saying much to each other. Hes asked me to come along with him when he travels the South Island as he will be renting a car (it took about 10 minutes to get that information across- yes, diagrams and hand gestures were used). I don't know my plans for the South Island yet but how cool would that be? Two people on the road who don't quite understand each other but are totally able to understand each other. Well- I'll keep you guys updated on that.

Advertisement



2nd March 2015

Aren't you Canadian kids supposed to learn French in school? Maybe you should've hung out with Sam more and picked up some ASL :)

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb