River Valley arrival


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
November 11th 2009
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today…first thing…not feeling too bad. Quite impressed with ourselves really, maybe the hangover hasn’t kicked in yet, quick Charmaine get them ibuprofen..oops sorry I mean ibufofen….(haha…private joke) On the bus we all got, some people were so tired, some people were so ill, some people were still even drunk, it was a funny morning I think everyone went full out…silly eh! Now we have about a 4hour bus ride to River Valley.

Today we stopped randomly at a waterfall…JP the bus driver said did anyone want to jump in?…he said it was about 3m, so willing I said yer why not, its not that high…we all walked down this path to this lovely waterfall and as we looked down….what a liar, no way was it 3m, it was more like 7 or 8m, bearing in mind, iv never really jumped off anything like this im standing at the edge of the waterfall looking down and thinking what the hell am I doing?, about 40 people watching me I couldn’t back out…could I?…NO WAY, I turned my head away from the height and just jumped down, it seemed like I was in the air forever and when I hit the water it was so cold that it took my breath completely even when I came to the top of the water, sod it! I still done it and it was another thing to add that I have done. QUALITY.

We arrived at the next place only to be greeted at the top of a hill of which we couldn’t see down. We had to walk down a hill to get to the resort which was on the Rangitikei river, the first impressions was that it was pretty cool, something completely different from what we stayed in before. All wooden beams, open and spacey. That didn’t last too long. We were told to just go into rooms, no organisation at all, which left me stuck from a 6bed dorm to the 32bed dorm…not impressed. After seeing the dorm though I didn’t mind it too much and seeing as the dorm was in the main part of the building instead of an out building, which was pretty cold. We decided to order the roast dinner which we were seriously looking forward too…big mistake. The mash potato come out first….which means no roast potato’s…great. Secondly came out the broccoli, which I didn’t like anyway, then the peas, then the Yorkshire puds and the beef. Bearing In mind that between the first serving to come out and the last it was about 20mins. NOT IMPRESSED and with the cheek of the waitress it topped it off. Although the kind older people on another table gave us what they had left over, which was lots of meat and Yorkshire puds, it made things just a little better….oh I didn’t mention that there was about 15 of us eating so there was only just enough to go around…hmm….not recommend, although we were booked in for white water rafting tomorrow and couldn’t wait to get up and do this. Me and Charmaine both went to bed about 10pm.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb