Snow Boarding In The Tongariro NP


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
October 6th 2006
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've Got All The Gear!I've Got All The Gear!I've Got All The Gear!

All of the gear has been rented and it seems to fit okay! Ha! Now I have to have a crack it actually boarding!!!
After a brief spell in Napier I travelled to Okahune in the Tongarario National Park (Central North Island, NZ). This was my first glimpse of some proper mountains. There are 3. The largest, still active, volcanoe is Mt. Ruapehu.

I Waited for a clear spell in the weather and was able to try Snow boarding for the first time ever. I have wanted to try it for ages but never had the chance.

It was awesome fun. I paid for a lesson and rented the few bits of gear that I needed. I spent much of the first day on my back side - laughing. The second day that I went however was great. I managed a full run of the beginner slope (not actually very impresive).

Check out the pictures and I might try and update a short video of me "snow Boarding"!! Ha!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Still Standing!Still Standing!
Still Standing!

Actually, I fell a couple of seconds after this photo was taken! Ha! If you have not had a crack at SB'ing yet then give it a go when you get the chance. It's brilliatn fun.
A Beautiful Place For BoardingA Beautiful Place For Boarding
A Beautiful Place For Boarding

Whakapapa is a very beautiful place for doing anything, including snow boarding!.


7th November 2006

Nice one Roly
Hi Roly Nice one!! Very impressive, glad you are enjoying it, snowboarding is really good fun, email soon as I have lost your email address, trying to be too organised in the inbox and deleted everything take care speak soon xxxx
11th November 2006

Email address
Come on Rach. Keep up....roland_tarver@yahoo.co.uk Ha! Speak soon. Roly x

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.6kb