Sea Kayaking


Advertisement
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lunch BreakLunch BreakLunch Break

A brief stop for lunch provides an opportunity for a few pictures. Just after lunch came the Dolphin Encounter.....
Today has been awesome.

Todat I set off on a 3.5 day trip into the Abel Tasman National Park.

The first day was sea kayaking, followed by 2.5 days of tramping.

I spent the day kayaking along golden beaches with views of the fabulous Abel Tasman native bush beyond. during the kayak we were very very lucky indeed. We saw some Dolphins. They came within about 2 metres of our kayaks and were very playful! Awesome!

We also came within a similar distance to a seal; laying on it's back and seemingly without a care in the world! Certainly our presence was of no concern! ha!

After the day (well 5 hours) of kayaking I would spend the night in the Aquapackers! Rather than staying in a DOC (Department of Conservation) hut - which would be my normal choice. Teh Aquapackers is just like a normal backpackers but it's on a boat! You will note the clever play on words! yee! Anyhow, It was a great experience. I was sleeping in the hull of the boat, below the water line. I had a small port hole that I could open (it was above the water line ha!) and look
Golden BeachesGolden BeachesGolden Beaches

The Abel Tasman Natioan Park is full of fantastic Golden Beaches, here's one as an example....
out into the golden bay - brilliant. Chris and his crew cooked us a BBQ in the evenning and we wathed in comfort as the rain poured down! ha!

During the middle of the night I woke and looked out of my port hole, the weather had cleared and where once there was heavy rain there was now a beautifully clear moonlit night. It was great looking out on the moonlit bay. And, as I did, I thought I hope the weather holds. It did.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Golden Beaches 2Golden Beaches 2
Golden Beaches 2

OKay, one more example....
An Odd Shadow?An Odd Shadow?
An Odd Shadow?

It's amazing what 2.5 days alone will do to you!


18th November 2006

Sea Kayaking fellows...
Hi Roland, Thanks for sending the link to this site. We only can agree, that day was just fantastic and we had a lot of fun. Unfortunately we are home now already again, our 3.5 weeks vacation are over... We hope, no we are sure you are having a wonderful time and wish you all the best for your remaining time! Take care, Judith and Heiko
24th November 2006

There's always next time
Hey Judith and Heiko! great to hear from you! I big shame that your vacation is now all over. But at least you got involved and did it ALL in the first place. And besides, there's always next time.......this is my second time here remember. If I came back - so can you! Speak soon, Roland x
20th December 2006

St John Ambulance
Great following all your adventures. Hope you haven't needed the emergency services yet. Festive greetings from all in an icy Barnstaple.
28th January 2007

Ha!
Hi! No I've not needed any emergency services (yet) Ha! Fingers crossed I'll be back in one piece, I did get food poisioning once - does that count? ha!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb