Ha! They Let Me Fly A Plane!


Advertisement
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post


It's nearly time for take off!It's nearly time for take off!It's nearly time for take off!

Actually this photo was taken after landing, hence the massive grin. Brilliant fun!
On the final day of my 3.5 days in the Abel Tasman National Park and after I had had a much needed shower and a shave! I decided to have a go a flying!

As it would turn out, this was one of the best things I have ever done! It's brilliant. I had perfect weather and my flight instructor was very cool!

I walked out to the Motueka airport (only a small affair) and then had a short chat to the pilot and up the two of us went. We were in a duel controls acrobat plane.

The instructor took off and go the plane to about 5000 feet and then he showed me a roll. The roll was great fun! the plane spins on it's long axis, you go completely upside down, and then you return to the normal flying position.

Then it was my turn. The pilots instructions were clear and simply. Just what I needed! The first roll I did, by myself, was a brilliant feeling. All of it conducting over the great Abel Tasman National Park that I had just spent the last 3.5 days kayaking and walking through. Awesome. You have got to try this at some point!

Anyhow, next up was a loop-the-loop. WOW! this was even better!!!! I wanted a go!. It is so easy, seriously - driving a car is more difficult! But I know which I prefer. Cricky! Loop-the-loops are SOOO much fun! Cricky. I did a serious number of these.

Towards the end of the flight the pilot took over control once more. Later he would say that my stomack had survived so far and so he did a few more advanced moves. We hung upside down ("inverted" I believe is the correct term) for a long time - juswt cruising along. I'm glad the seat bealt was tight - Ha! Then we did some all sorts-a-crazy moves. I can't really remember what they were! Except to say that they were bloody good.

I do remember the Pilot pointing the noise of the plane ditrectly at the ground. It felt a bit like doing a sky dive but with a seat! Ha! Brilliant. Memories that will last a lifetime....

Anyhow - check out the loop-the-loop movie and a few of the still shots.



Advertisement



23rd November 2006

Fly Boy!
Thats brilliant mate, now you can fly back and do some work in the evenings back here. We have a million and one jobs needing doing!
24th November 2006

Thanks for the offer - but Na!
Hey Jimbo say hi to all back there. Tell AKB to quit all that the gimping - and make sure you never go in the server room with him! I ain't quite ready to come bac yet! Ha! I fly to Oz early next week,so it should be coool! Take it easy, Roly

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb