I want to go backpacking


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
April 10th 2013
Published: April 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I just got back from an 8 day road trip in New Zealand...

I know how important school is to my grandparents and I know they're paying for my education but after I finish my bachelors degree I am going to go backpacking across the world. I know an education is important to my life especially down the road a degree and even a masters will be vitally important in getting a successful job. It's just, personally traveling is more important to me. Each time I travel I feel I find myself a little more and understand myself a little better, I don't get that from going to school and sitting in lectures all day long.

Traveling gives me a deeper sense of independence that nothing I have done so far in life has given me such satisfaction. In New Zealand I know I was with 4 other friends but we didn't have our parents or school or a travel program like I did in costa rica arranging the activities we would be doing, or making sure we had a place to stay each night or we were eating properly. The last 4 nights we were freedom camping, we just drove until we found a place to pull off on the side of the road. We went grocery shopping the first day to arrange all the food in advance but besides that we mostly just drove. We stopped where ever and when ever we wanted, mainly when ever something looked beautiful. We found hidden water falls in the Milford sound and a perfect sunset in Hakitaka and even camped on the beach one night in Fox Glacier where the stars were amazing; I wish I knew more about the constellations.

And the thing is I was still with 4 other people. I need to get out and travel by myself! Backpack by myself. And that scares the shit out of me. But I have heard so many amazing stories and adventures, and yes I know there will be troubles and it will be dangerous but I need to do it. And It's driving me insane because I feel the need to do it now! RIGHT NOW! I am back in the dorms and I already want to escape everyone. I want to meet new people but not these people, not people who's current goal in life is to get shit faced that night. I want to meet people who's goal is to explore, have a destination in mind, and adventure ahead that they can't wait to experience!

I feel like I can't start living until I find myself and backpacking will some how help that, but I have to wait at least 2 years 😞 I don't know if I an wait that long.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb