The High Country


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
January 21st 2009
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday saw me riding into Omerama after a pull out of Fairlie in good weather. The wind got stronger and in my face for quite a while and made progress slow. The land up here is very poor and stoney with the usual Merino sheep and the occasional deer farm.
Wednesday was a longer day with just over 70 miles to cover over the Lindis Pass so I was up at 6.30 and away at 8am after a big cooked breakfast. The journey started with a steady climb for 15 miles and a serious 5 mile ascent over teh pass. I am gald I was travelling West since the climb up the other side is 10 miles od serious gradient. I flew down in little time but had to cover up to keep warm. Surprisingly there are some vineyards up in the hills, but have not tried their products yet. I aim to try some in Queenstown tommorrow. I am now in Cromwell for the night on a campsite with blocks of rooms with common kitchens and showers etc. I managed to buy a replacement inner tube for the ne cut by glass in Christchurch last week. I am not looking forward to my journey from Queenstown next Saturday since the wind will be in my face, being predominantly a NW'ly on my journey North and people keep telling me about the rain. My leg is getting better, but not fully recovered and I stop every 15 miles or so and walk a few yards to stretch it. The scenery is very pleasant with massive hills, some snow capped, and beautiful lakes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb