South Island, New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

South Island, New Zealand

Just three days to go and accommodation has been booked for the entire, lone cycling trip in backpacker hostels, which are ideal for cyclists. I can make my own meals and ensure that I am getting a good balanced high carbo diet for energy. It also means that I can get an early breakfast if required if a long day ahead. I am averaging 60 miles per day, which should be enough when going over mountains with panniers. The maximum daily ride is 80 miles. It is exciting looking at the places I will visit on the web and just hope I get the good weather to enjoy it. I have stripped my bike down, fastened the bits to the frame with toe clip straps and bound it with industrial cling film (bale wrap) with bubble wrap and cardboard to protect the edges. Since I am flying out of a different airport I cannot use my bike bag and I need to keep the weight down to be able to take my minimal belongings. First stop now; Christchurch on Friday, rebuild the bike and then to town to Vagabond Backpackers for a decent sleep, I hope. My video camera is all charged and ready to roll.

Advertisement



12th January 2009

Bon Voyage
Have a good time and take care you old blogger!!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb