My little pony


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » West Coast » Westport
April 20th 2006
Published: April 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Woke up bright and early for the horse ride Id booked the previous day. Rode a beautiful chesnut called Walter and he was cool (not so little pony). As some of the group had never ridden and were decidedly nervous the guides split the group in two. We headed off for a few canters leaving the first timers in the dust. We rode through the bush then along the sandy banks of the Buller River through some of the magnificent scenery we'd seen from the bus. It was awesome.
We also headed off to the gallop field en route to which I was warned that Walter was the fastest and most mental! great! After that nugget of info I was bracing myself. He was cool though. He Knew he was about to get a gallop and I was willing to let him have his fun. He had such a smooth gallop as well so I was happy, and he stopped when I asked him too. so all round good ride!

Had intended to get off the bus in Greymouth and head up to Arthur's Pass in the mountains today but there wasnt space on the Kiwi bus for the day I wanted to leave again. Didnt wish to be stranded in Greymouth so I may go up from Christchurch instead.
So tonight was in Mahanipua. At the Lake Mahanipua Hotel where they have a fancy dress party. Our themes were 'Superheroes' and 'Chavs and Goths' but most people went as anything they could find a costume for and vaguely link in.
The Irish girls went all out as Chavs (well they're Irish so pikies I guess) complete with pregnant bump, fags and caps. Was hilarious!!! Mary, Zoe, Jack and their gang went as Goths and were very good. though reminded me of some people from home! To be fair the Irish girls wouldnt have looked out of place at home either!!!!
I donned my daisy-duke-denim shorts a checked shirt i found in a charity shop and my trusty hat to become Jessie from Toy Story 2(she was my hero when that film came out so it counts!!!) complete with toy gun, guitar and little freckles on my cheeks. Met a lad called Matt who, ironically enough, was dressed as Woody (every young boys hero) and we made a right pair!!!
The best costume had to be Banana Man, though Im fairly sure it went over the heads of most people, I remember Eric!! but Lee, the guy who went as banana man, was destined to win a prize....his costume consisted of yellow body paint and blue bikini bottoms. Nothing else! brave brave man!!!
Such a good night!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb