Feeling a little dizzy...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
August 13th 2006
Published: August 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Leaning Lucy...Leaning Lucy...Leaning Lucy...

My Michael Jackson impression...
Wanaka has everything that Queenstown has but presents itself in a more peaceful way. Everything is spread out more and it isn't as busy. The town is right by a beautiful lake as well with snowy mountains in the background. I much preferred Wanaka for these reasons and because of the funky little things you could do there.

Ian and I went to this place just outside of Wanaka which had illusion rooms and a big maze outside. I loved it so much! The hologram section was so cool, although I didn't like the one that had bananas looking like they were about to grab you...sounds like a nightmare possibility for Lucy! There was a room where you could stand one end and look like a giant, then walk over to the other side and look like someone who could easily be stamped on and squashed! Man illusions just amaze me, I used to love those books that you hold up close to your face then pull away slowly, revealing the image and making you go a bit boss eyed aswell..

There was a room which was like a crooked house (slightly better than the one at Peter Pans
Spending a penny...Spending a penny...Spending a penny...

The toilets are very open in Wanaka...
in Southend-on-Sea, although that did survive a flood!). My favourite part was the pool table which looked like it was slanting upwards, but when you let go of the ball it would travel up and go into the top pocket! I knew how it worked but it really does mess with your head! Just like the tube of water which trickled uphill. I felt a bit ill after all of that...

The maze outside was fantastic! We both opted to do the 'difficult' challenge, where you had to reach all four towers in the corners of the maze but in a specific order. It took me absolutely ages to find the first two, then not that long to find the last two. The problem that arose after that though was finding the exit! I'd memorised what stairs I needed to go up and down on to get to the exit, but finding that first set of stairs was where I was stuck! I eventually completed the maze (Ian finished before me) in less than one hour! Which is pretty good as they say it should take between one to one and a half hours.

If you are travelling
Sofa or car...Sofa or car...Sofa or car...

I loved this cinema, small cinemas are the best! I miss The Flix...
to Wanaka you must go to the Paradiso Cinema. We watched Over the Hedge (Ben Folds did the soundtrack, I loved it of course). There is an interval where you can then buy freshly baked cookies and muffins. You get to sit on sofas and even sofas which are in the shell of an old Morris Minor car, although all the kids got to that first! I love small independent cinemas, and this one has been my favourite for sure. They should bring back intervals in cinema, just like at The Flix where you could go down to the front and by an icecream..plus you can go to the toilet and not miss any of the film!

Advertisement



18th August 2006

shamone
he heeee!
18th August 2006

am i first
all this fighting for the first comment!! I thought i might as well give it a try! loving the MJ impression!! xxx
18th August 2006

trying to
hi wonderwomen just trying to beat nigel to be first
18th August 2006

poooooooooooo
that bloke next to you .....did he have a curry last night as he is straining big style! pib
18th August 2006

Cinema
What a cute cinema, really different. How about a different outfit ????S See you sooooooon mum xxx God Bless
18th August 2006

Why.....
Look please .... i have retired from being the first person to reply, come on Coco pops you must be able to do better!! Shammmmmmoooooooonnnnnnnnnneeeeeee Heeeeheeee Liking the MJ Stance, surprised Matthew has not replied to this yet as i can remember him buying moonwalker from capricorn video ( you know the place i got sacked from for paying myself too much money, and eating all the Mr Freezers) for loads of dosh.....at the time £90 or so!! Loooking forward to seeing you soon sis...miss u mmmmmmmwwwwwaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh PIB
18th August 2006

banana nightmares
ahahaha, bless you miss! if there were tomatoe ones too, im sure you would have cried. miss you! come back soon. p.s don't be brown.x

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0846s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb