Giddy up...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Glenorchy
August 11th 2006
Published: August 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Reflection...Reflection...Reflection...

I think this scenic moment is in my top 10 in Aotearoa...
Taking a break from hectic Queenstown, Ian and I decided to go horse riding. The road to Glenorchy was amazing, right on the cliff edge with a beautiful relective lake below.

The horses that the riding company own are actually film stars. They were in Lord of the Rings and used by the riders of Rohan. How lucky were we to be surrounded by famous horses!

On the trip which was in a place called Paradise (very appropriately named) we actually got to trot through areas that were film locations for Lord of the Rings. We stopped by where Boromir dies after such a well fought battle and having heaps of arrows pierced into his body. We also rode through the forest where Galadriel lives, the part where she goes all scary looking with her bright whiteness and freaky eyes...I don't like that bit...

My horse sure was a greedy one. He kept stopping to bend down and eat the grass all the time, jolting me forward as I was holding onto the reigns! He even decided to hold up the line because he decided to break off a massive branch from a bush to have as a
Trotting along...Trotting along...Trotting along...

I loved horse riding but your bum does hurt after a while...
snack-on-the-go.

I really enjoyed horse riding, I can't even remember the last time I did it. Although my bum did hurt afterwards and we only rode for a couple of hours!

It really did feel as if you were riding decades ago as there is just no one around and the land is untouched, showing off its beautiful natural form.

Advertisement



18th August 2006

Good sport
Has anyone managed it?
18th August 2006

Lucy
Dont forget Joshuas balloon
18th August 2006

Horse S**t
The photo at the bottom.........whos on whos back...the horses maine/hair looks cleaner than yours!! Has the horse just been sick??
18th August 2006

New Zealand
I know everyone said N.Z. was pretty, but all your photos show how stunning it really is.......yes its on my list now for Dad and I to visit. Perhaps we will do a journal too! .....lol.....Take care, and we really will see you SOON !!! God Bless love you mum xxx
18th August 2006

did they teach that awesome way that Leglas swings onto the horse at speed for LOTR 2/3??? now that would be impressive..... see you soon x
18th August 2006

IM OWNING UP !
WONDERWOMAN,ON 16TH AUGUST I WAS NOT THE FIRST TO REPLY TO YOUR TRAVEL BLOG,SOMEONE USED MY NAME OR DO YOU KNOW ANOTHER COLIN ?????

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb