Movin' on up...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
August 9th 2006
Published: August 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lucy and the Llama...Lucy and the Llama...Lucy and the Llama...

Sounds like a title of a kids book - Lucy and the Llama...
After going back on myself on the Milford road (through the cool tunnel and avalanche zone again!) Ian and I were now heading north. First stop was Queenstown.

Now everybody absolutely raves about this place, and yes it is a 'happening' place compared to most of the little towns in New Zealand, but I personally found it too commercial and cramped. It covers such a small area and there is just so much packed into it! There's also heaps of people walking about in their designer ski-wear and mirrored sunnies looking cool as.
Anyway..the scenery around Queenstown is just stunning. Mountains all around you with water below..that certainly makes up for it...

On arrival in Queenstown we drove up this dirt track on a hill. Using $1 coins you could buy animal feed and give heaps of animals their lunch. There were so many different types on animals there! My favourite were the goats, especially the baby ones which sound so cute when they bleet. I loved feeding the ducks too, it makes me laugh when you throw the food out to them and their quacks go all high pitched..ahaha..

Whilst driving around you could also walk to
Goat woman...Goat woman...Goat woman...

This is the second time now I've been surrounded by goats, last time was in Devon with Choirwood I think...
some locations where Lord of the Rings was filmed. Ian enjoys singing the theme tune whilst admiring the views and I enjoy listening to him.

Oh yes and there were lots of llamas too, just mooching around, not far from the deer. I preffered the llamas as they were very gentle and had huge pretty eyes, whilst the deer would barge into you and stick their head right in the food pot! How rude...

That evening we had a bargain night out with a cheap deal on pizza, alcohol and pool (I'm practicing lots so I can beat you when I get home Nigel!). Man, it was like a pool marathon, we were playing for ages and stopping every now and then for a bite of pizza. I was quite pleased with my self by winning 9 games out of 10...game on Nigel...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Lots and lots of bambi...Lots and lots of bambi...
Lots and lots of bambi...

I chose not to feed the one glaring at me, those antlers look like they could do some damage...
Feed me...Feed me...
Feed me...

An attractive little piggy...


16th August 2006

I'M FIRST AT LAST
I'M FIRST TO LEAVE A MESSAGE WITH NO CONTENT !!!!!! HAHAH
16th August 2006

come on
home now
16th August 2006

Lucy & The Goosey
Tut..Queenstown is awesome...shame on you. But i see where your coming from. The scenery is what its allllllll about though aye bro. i got your postcard today! woo! awesome :D i like the frog saying LackleOilOil! haha..its great. I'll give you an email soon, or i'll just speak to you wednesday! :) ka kite ano bro xxx
16th August 2006

The time has come
For you to come home now but also to let you know that i am retiring from being your first reply. I think i may have been late today however i thought it would be generous of me to give others a chance...so ta ta. Like your benny from crossroads hat.......how long ago does it seem when we were talking about jelly fish, dead fish and cheese.....Lydia now wants to meet you again so get you butt home. over and out for now sis,mmmmmmmmmmmwwwwwwaaaaaah PIB x
16th August 2006

Oh dear me !
I can see an all night session coming on in Nigels (soon to be very posh) games room! You are both sooo competitive I think it will be a new record for the longest amount of games.....unless someone thrashes the other !I dont know about the animals but the background to the photos are stunning! Love you God Bless mum xxx
16th August 2006

1st
that pig is horrible, did i get the first comment! :)
16th August 2006

Feed me photo !
Ah that feed me photo reminds me, do you need me to book a check up at the dentist for your return ????? mum xxx lol
17th August 2006

Game on!
In your dreams Sis!! The games room is nearly complete, so when it is , it will be free entry on the door however a game of killer costs £1, more people the better im thinking between 10 and 20 games, someone could make a lot of dosh .....20 games 10 people..you could win £200!!! Just think of all that shampoo you could buy to wash your hair with Smellycat! Looking forward to seeing you now and dont forget Joshuas balloon, he will be devestated if you forget Love you Lucy and see you soon mmmwwaahhhh PIB
18th August 2006

Oh nigel...
Just because your Uncle Colin beat you, you then decide to give up. Tut tut. That's just not good enough. P.I.B II -x-

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.08s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb