New Zealand - The Southern Lakes Area


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
November 22nd 2008
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

They say the town of Wanaka is a great alternative to busy Queenstown...


I arrived via the scenic Haast Pass from the West Coast, and decided to stay a few nights in this tranquil village by the lake. The area reminded me of a mellow version of Lake Chelan back in Washington State. Lots of outdoor recreation, including hiking, boating, camping and skiing in the winter.

I drove up into the mountains about an hour away from town, and took a 3-hr hike to view the Rob Roy Glacier. On the way there, I drove through lush green hills and pastures. It started raining hard during my hike, and on the way back, waterfalls appeared where they weren't just a few hours before and I had to ford eight creeks that gave me a bit of an adrenaline rush (okay, it wasn't like bungee jumping, but good enough for me). Oh, and a herd of cows crossed the road in front of me, which added the excitement for the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Lake Hawea & Lake Wanaka in the distanceLake Hawea & Lake Wanaka in the distance
Lake Hawea & Lake Wanaka in the distance

As seen from my scenic flight over the Southern Alps
Blue PoolsBlue Pools
Blue Pools

Located in the Haast Pass, which is the route between the West Coast and Wanaka.


The turquoise blue river water gets its color from particles of mica and other minerals in the glacial water that reflect the sunlight.
Rob Roy GlacierRob Roy Glacier
Rob Roy Glacier

1-hour drive from Wanaka and 3-hr RT hike. Halfway there, it started to rain hard. I could still see the glacier through the clouds, though.
Waterfalls and Kea birdsWaterfalls and Kea birds
Waterfalls and Kea birds

Kea are the only alpine parrots in the world and they're native to New Zealand.
View from the hostel where I stayedView from the hostel where I stayed
View from the hostel where I stayed

"Wanaka Bakpakas" Shared bunkrooms for under NZ$30 Private room with ensuite for under NZ$70
Shared kitchenShared kitchen
Shared kitchen

We could cook our own food here with their dishes and utensils, refrigerators, oven, cooktops and BBQ.
Shared LoungeShared Lounge
Shared Lounge

Great way to meet other travelers. They also provide two internet computers to use for NZ$6/hour, where I posted a couple of blog entries.


Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb