Mt. Roy Walk


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
November 27th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mt. Aspiring National ParkMt. Aspiring National ParkMt. Aspiring National Park

Well, some one has to look at it!
After the fox Glacier I would make my way down to the fantastic little town of Wanaka. It is like Queenstowns little brother and, if forced to make a choice, Wanaka wins hands down over Queenstown (for me at least).

I had one day of perfect weather in Wanaka. As it turned out, this would be the day I chose to walk up Mt. Roy.

Mt. Roy, is one of the hills that are visible from the lake front at Wanaka. It is a truely beautiful place and I could not wait to get up there in such great conditions. However, I would have to wait a little while. There was a stiff climb to the top. Later I found out that people run this. That will get you bloody fit! God!

The walk begins about 2 miles out side town. I was walking along the road to the start of the walk when a couple of friends picked me up. Martin and Renato - 2 cool Swiss guys - gave me a lift to the start of the walk. Then the track went up, steeply. The track would remain very steep all the way top the top,
Lake WanakaLake WanakaLake Wanaka

Lake Wanaka and Mount Aspiring National Park from the top of Mt. Roy. Very Nice.
some 2 hours later.

On the way up you were rewarded with awesome views of the Mt. Aspiring National Park. Surely, on a day like today, one of the most beautiful places on Earth. Awesome!

Getting to the top (about 1500M) it became a lot colder and I did not want to linger too long. However, I did take a good number of photos and a brief video clip. Check them out....

Advertisement



6th December 2006

Fantastic!
Just 1 day at Wanaka, hardly enough I guess. Mum.x
20th December 2006

St John Barnstaple
Mind blowing scenery. May the adventures continue into 2007. All the best from the family and everyone at Princess Street
28th January 2007

See you soon!
Hi Maureen and co! It was a great trip that will soon be at an end no (sob sob) - actually I'm very much looking forward to coming home. Take care and I'll see you all in a few weeks. PS, My direct email address if roland_tarver@yahoo.co.uk
28th January 2007

Scenery
Yes! It certainly was mind blowing. Wait till you see the full range of shots!!! See you soon. Roly
28th January 2007

don't worry - i'm going back! x

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb