Woofing New Zealand - Week 1


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
October 6th 2014
Published: October 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It is now week 1 of my Woofing adventure, and before i start, i'm going to give you a little update about my plan for the upcoming months. Having just finished a winter season up in the Southern Alps of NZ, the region opened my eyes to how exciting exploring the outdoors can really be. The extensive skiing and hiking I did during my time there got me really excited to continue exploring New Zealand's backyard. With not much of a budget, the option that made most sense to me was to work in exchange for food and accommodation around the country (Woofing), one week a time.

So finally, after a painful last minute search for my first woofing place, my first stop is Lake Manapouri, 20 mins from the township of TeAnau, and not far from the more renowned Milford Sound.

I arrived today by bus from Queenstown and I'm doing a 1 week woofing here at a hotel.

This part of new zealand is called Fiordland. Theres a lot of water and green here! Its the belgium of NZ, 20 days of rain a month on average :P So yeah first day has been rainy and cloudy, but beneath the clouds, seems like a nice place.

The hotel is a "Motor Inn", which sounds trashy, but its actually very nice. Minet would approve. Will be doing some weeding and housekeeping starting tomorrow.

A bit alone here, which is the downer, but hopefully I get some hiking in and find other things to keep me busy before I'm on the move again, hopefully down south to Stewart Island to join some friends for a hiking trip, if all works out.

Sending love from the winter rainforest



-m-

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb