Fiordland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
February 16th 2011
Published: February 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The New Zealand adventure continues with some tramping, cruising, and sea kayaking. Before leaving Queenstown though I did some hiking and, of course I had to go bungy jumping! I chose the 134 m (440ft) Nevis jump (the highest). I had gone once before off a short one in Orlando. It was the same exciting/sick feeling standing on the edge ready to jump. This time, there was a lot more free fall so way more exciting. It was over quick, but the buzz lasted for quite awhile.
Next stop Te Anau to prepare for hiking the Kepler Track. I had planned the trip to get into Te Anau a couple of days early, 1) to drive up to the Milford Sound and do some hiking and 2) watch the Superbowl. I was really hoping that the weather would be great on the Milford day and atrocious on the Superbowl day.....of course it was exactly the opposite. I felt a little guilty being inside a bar watching the game on a beautiful day, but wasn't sure if I would be let back into the country if I didn't. The only good thing about driving up to the Milford Sound area during a driving/foggy rainstorm was seeing the incredible waterfalls everywhere. I didn't bother going on the boat ride up the sound that time, but did after I got back from the Kepler. It was a nice ride and I met some other travelers to go hiking with after the boat.
I spent three nights hiking the Kepler Track....some people do it in two because the huts are expensive ($50NZ). The weather was nice (only drizzled a bit one day), the views in the forest and alpine were fantastic, and the people I met were super. All and all, a great hike!
The next excursion was a 3 day kayak trip on the Doubtful Sound. Another great adventure and the weather held out. If it wasn't for the sandflies it would have been perfect, but fortunately we had a screened in tent at camp to eat in and sip wine (or goon as wine in a bag is know down here) after a long day in the boat.
I'm off to explore the west coast of the south island!



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

GlenorchyGlenorchy
Glenorchy

drive up from Queenstown


16th February 2011
My paddling partner Murray

awesome photos
If you don't want to be an engineer when you get back maybe you can be the next Ansel Adams! You have a great eye for photography!
16th February 2011

what did I do wrong!
Don't even say it was my fault that you do these crazy things like jumping off a 134 m cliff! mommo
16th February 2011

Living Large
I love the doubtful sound! The pic of the bungy jump and you about to take flight is awesome! As Gus would say- you are really living life! So proud of you! Thanks for sharing your adventure!
17th February 2011

But mom. You gave me my first taste of adrenaline!
17th February 2011

Thanks all!
17th February 2011

WOW
You are much braver than I am, never in a million years would I jump 440 feet. The pictures are breath taking, you are so lucky to experience it all. How was the weather during your hike, looks like it was cool in the evening.
21st February 2011

Crazy Girl
You are definitely "nuts"....don't forget your engineering skills....you will need them when you get back.
23rd February 2011

Hi Anne Great pictures ! How manny shoe's have used up? Jackie will be doing her( 6) 5K at Disney this week end.She runs now. Love Larry & Jackie
3rd March 2011

It's Official - You are NUTS
Anne - pretty much up to this point I would consider doing all the stuff you have done; however, I will not be bungy jumping! The scenery is exquisite - I understand why NZ has been your favorite so far. See you soon - NK

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb