Glaciers and Earthquakes


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
March 2nd 2011
Published: March 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have finished off the South Island and am starting the North Island adventure. After leaving fiordland, I headed along the north west coast to the glaciers. First Fox and then Franz Joseph. It's a really cool experience to view a glacier from a rain forest and then drive to the ocean less than 20 miles away.
I continued up the coast stopping along the way in Hokitika (cute artsy beach town), and Punakaki ( laid back hostel right on the beach - watched dolphins jumping in the ocean while eating breakfast), and then hit the end of the road in Karamea where I found hippie paradise at Rongo's Backpacker Lodge (hostels are called backpacker's here). All of NZ feels like a throwback....college age kids hitchhiking, walking around without shoes, but Rongo's really had that feel to it. It was a hostel/organic farm/art studio. Some folks stayed long term to chill out and do their art work. One night we all walked to the beach and had a cookout/bonfire. I visited some caves and arches close to the hostel one day. I forgot my flashlight so went back as far as I could using my Iphone and camera flash to see where I was going. When I got to the back (in the pitch black), I could see the lights from the glow worms on the cave ceiling. Pretty awesome! There are some pretty big glow worm caves here in the North Island and I am looking forward to visiting again (this time with a flashlight). I also did a great day hike along the Heaphy Track which is one of the great walks in NZ. I went along the coastal bush to the first hut and back. A beautiful day and a beautiful hike!
The next day I drove to Abel Tasman National Park and went on a kayak trip. I couldn't believe how many kayaks were on the water. Nice coastline with clear water and beaches for lunch stops. We "talked" to the seals on a little marine sanctuary island). Lots of little pups who were very interested in seeing what we were up to.
I visited the town of Nelson and then made my way to Picton to do a day hike along the Queen Charlotte Track before catching the ferry to Wellington and the North Island.

As I drove through the mountains to Abel Tasman, there was no radio reception. When I got to town that afternoon I heard about the earthquake that day in Christchurch. I quickly sent an email home to let my folks know I was OK. That evening I looked at youtube videos with the other travellers of the devastation. Seeing the Christchurch Cathedral where I had watched a service and the city center I had explored devastated was terrible. Over the next few days, I heard some first hand accounts of people who had been in the city when it happened. Many people just left the city....all of the tourists, and some of the residents. The feeling here reminds me of 9/11 in the US. The whole country is devastated by the tragedy and pulling together to help out. My paddling partner from the Doubtful Sound is from Christchurch. Murray, I hope you and your family are OK.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Heaphy Track swinging bridgeHeaphy Track swinging bridge
Heaphy Track swinging bridge

I love swinging bridges and NZ has heaps of them!
Heaphy Track "Penguin"Heaphy Track "Penguin"
Heaphy Track "Penguin"

I thought it was a penguin until it flew away.


3rd March 2011

Horseshoe Crab @ Rongo's?
So, did you eat what looks like the giant horseshoe crab (shapes in fire) in the beach BBQ photo?
3rd March 2011

glow worms
You would say the glow worms were really neat, my luck the glow worms would fall into my hair, yuk!
8th March 2011

Glad you are safe
We were worried about you when we heard the news of the earthquake.
15th March 2011

Where is the world is Anne
How are you, keeping looking on your blog to see where you are and how you're doing. Denise

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb