Queenstown here I come


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
March 12th 2013
Published: March 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

There are 6 of us waiting for the bus this morning and it is a bit chilly outside – certainly a crisp autumn morning. We arrive at Queenstown by 10am and my hostel is super close to the bus stop which is great. I can’t check in as it is too early, but leave my bags, change and go for a wander round Queenstown. It has an awesome vibe, several people said just to stay one night then move on so I only booked two nights to start with, but I wish I had booked more now as the hostel had no more room.

The town has a great atmosphere, really chilled and relaxed and right on the lake with the remarkable mountains as a backdrop it is stunning. The shops around have some amazing clothes in – both fabulous outdoors clothes (mum you would be in heaven) and surfer/snowboardy clothes. Maybe on reflection it’s a good idea I’m not staying here longer – too tempting to buy some lovely things!

I walk to lake Wakipto, through the Queenstown gardens – which are lovely, so nice to see flowers again! From here I decide to walk to Frankton, and end up walking all around the Frankton arm – good job I brought some lunch with me. The views of the remarkables and the lake are just stunning, after a considerable amount of time, I decide to head back, stopping by the lake for a swim on the way. The water was super cold but absolutely stunning, so turquoise and provided perfect vision through the water.

I reached the hostel about 5pm and worked out I had walked about 25km round the lake, so much for an easy day! I checked into the hostel, which is FABULOUS and everybody so lovely. I had to go for a deluxe 5 bed female dorm room as no others left when I booked, and I didn’t expect it to be anything special but it was more like a hotel room – towels, normal and one for your hair, free shampoo conditioner etc, moisturiser, nail varnishes, hair dryers and hair straighteners with a gorgeous bathroom.

Eveybody says you have to have a Fergburger when you are in Queenstown, so after an amazing shower and sort out, Maria one of the girls in my dorm and I decide to head out and try one. The queue wasn’t too bad (I have heard it can be massive) and within 15minuites we had placed our order. My burger a Southern Burger was so yummy and all the burgers are really big, so this was especially nice after eating leftovers for the last few days! This evening is quiz night in the hostel and I have a great evening and challenging my brain and chatting to people in the hostel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0128s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb